The Web


 Latest Sports news on mobile: sms SPRT to 7333

Home > Sports > Hockey > Report

Aussies whip India

April 15, 2004 21:02 IST

Australia proved too strong for India's young team, scoring four times in the second session for a 5-0 victory in the Four-Nation Hockey Tournament in Canberra on Thursday.

In another match, Malaysia staved off a strong fightback from South Africa to prevail 3-2 and register their first victory after a loss to India in their opening match on Wednesday.

Also Read

Aiyappa scores twice in India win

The Indians did well to keep the Aussies at bay till the 28th minute, when Michael McCann scored following a free-hit, but thereafter had a tough time containing them.

Nathan Eglington increased Australia's lead from a penalty-corner six minutes into the second half and Grant Schubert made the scoreline 3-0 in the 47th minute.

Another goal from a penalty-corner by Andrew Smith in the 64th minute made it 4-0 before Travis Brookes completed the tally from clever open play in the dying seconds of the match.

Australia had beaten South Africa 4-2 in the opening match of the tournament on Wednesday.

In the earlier match, Malaysia led 3-0 at half-time.

Boon Huat Chua opened the scoring in the second minute while Muhamad Rahim and Tajol Rosli Mohamad scored from penalty-corners in the 24th and 26th minutes respectively.

South Africa staged a fightback, scoring from field play in the 46th minute through veteran Gregg Clark. A penalty-corner goal in 68th minute from Denzil Dolley saw them pull another goal back but it was too late.

Malaysia meets Australia on Saturday, while India plays South Africa.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Aiyappa's brace in India win

West Bengal Police edge past PSC

BSF (North Bengal) score

People Who Read This Also Read

India beat South Africa

Australia beat India in final

India finish last in Sydney

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.