The Web


 Latest Sports news on mobile: sms SPRT to 7333

Home > Sports > Hockey > Report

Aiyappa scores twice in India win

April 14, 2004 20:03 IST

Len Aiyappa scored a brace as India rallied from a goal down to beat Malaysia 4-1 in their opening match in the Four-Nations Challenge hockey tournament in Canberra on Wednesday.

India did well to overcome a fifth minute deficit and a 30-minute interruption ten minutes from the end of the match because of a power failure to emerge comfortable winners.

After Kuhan Shanmugathan gave Malaysia the lead in the fifth minute, scoring from a penalty-corner, India restored parity through Aiyappa from a penalty-corner in the 19th minute.

Strikers Deepak Thakur (31st) and Prabhjot Singh (32nd) then scored in quick succession as India went into the breather ahead 3-1.

Changing ends, Aiyappa scored his second penalty-corner goal in the 58th minute to put India 4-1 up.

In another opening round match, hosts Australia beat South Africa 4-2.

Liam de Young's fine show in the second half enabled the Aussies score thrice and take the match.

De Young scored in the 45th minute and set up a goal for Michael McCann in the 62nd half as Australia broke a 1-1 deadlock at half-time.

Travis Brooks converted a perfectly executed set play to give Australia a 1-0 lead in the 10th minute. But South Africa equalized through Reece Basson 15 minutes before half-time.

After Young made it 2-1 in the 45th minute, Michael Brennan increased the lead, scoring from a penalty-corner two minutes later. 

Greg Nicol pulled back a goal for South Africa, scoring in the 55th minute, but Michael McCann put the issue beyond doubt for Australia with a goal in the 62nd minute.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

BSF (North Bengal) score

Punjab Sports prevail

West Bengal Police edge past PSC

People Who Read This Also Read

Aussies whip India

Australia beat India in final

No fuss opening: Parthiv

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.