Rediff Navigator News

Surendra Sirsat is MGP chief

Surendra Sirsat and Dharma Chodankar were re-elected as president and general secretary of the Maharastrawadi Gomantak Party respectively in the election held in Panaji on Sunday.

In a triangular contest for the post, Sirsat polled 559 votes, defeating his nearest rival, MLA Shivdas Verekar by a margin of 370 votes. The other rival, MLA Rohidas Naik, polled only 89 votes.

In a straight fight for the general secretary's post, Chodankar polled 540 votes, defeating his rival, MLA Prakash Velip by a margin of 308 votes.

Padmanabh Amonkar (478) and R K Patil (336 votes) were elected as secretaries.

MLA Parshuram Kotkar and Vasudev Dhakuli Shirodkar have already been elected unopposed as MGP vice-presidents while advocate Gopal Tamba has been elected unopposed as treasurer.


Tell us what you think of this report

Home | News | Business | Cricket | Movies | Chat
Travel | Life/Style | Freedom | Infotech

Copyright 1997 Rediff On The Net
All rights reserved