Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

Sangliana, Prasad disqualified from Lok Sabha

October 07, 2008 18:46 IST

Related Articles
2 Lok Sabha members disqualified under anti-defection law
15 MPs cross-vote, BJP leads the pack

Expelled Bharatiya Janata Party member H T Sangliana and rebel Janata Dal-United leader Ramswaroop Prasad, who voted in favour of the United Progressive Alliance government in the July 22 confidence motion, were disqualified on Tuesday from the Lok Sabha under anti-defection provisions of the Constitution.
Sangliana, who had got elected on a BJP ticket from Bangalore North and Prasad, who represented Nalanda in Bihar, had defied their party whips in the crucial vote.
Sangliana and Prasad were disqualified from the membership of the Lok Sabha by Speaker Somnath Chatterjee [Images] under the Tenth Schedule of Constitution, a Lok Sabha Secretariat statement said.
A former police commissioner of Bengaluru [Images] and first time MP, Sangliana had supported the government in the confidence motion despite a whip issued by his party BJP to vote against the UPA.
He was expelled from the BJP the very next day after the trust vote.
Prasad too was expelled from the JD-U for defying the party directive and backing the UPA government.
At least 10 NDA MPs had cross-voted during the motion in which the government emerged victorious by bagging support of 275 members against 256 for the opposition in the House with an effective strength of 541.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop