Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Two more arrested in Mulund blast case

May 24, 2003 14:43 IST

Two more persons have been arrested under the Prevention of Terrorism Act for their alleged involvement in the Mulund bomb blast case.

The total number of arrests so far in the case has gone up to 15, the police said.

Altogether 11 persons were killed and few injured when a powerful explosion ripped through a compartment in a local train at Mulund railway station on March 13, 2003.

The two -- Haroon Rashid Mohammed Yameen (27) and Rashid Ahmed Abdul Malik (35) -- were arrested from suburban Kurla on Friday and remanded to police custody till June five by a special court.

Two other accused in the case, Noor Mohammed Abdul Malik Ansari and Dr Wahid Abdul Jaddar, were further remanded to police custody till June five by the court.

In a related development, prime accused in the case, Saquib Nachan, was arrested again in connection of Vile Parle bomb blast case and remanded to police custody till June five.

About 20 persons were injured when a bomb exploded on January 27 this year in a busy market in suburban Vile Parle.

Nachan is the first accused to be arrested in Vile Parle bomb blast case. He was allegedly involved all the blasts at Ghatkopar, Mulund and Vile Parle since December last year.

Among the 15 accused in Mulund blast case are Mohammed Kamil Mohammed Jamil Shaikh, Farah Abdul Malik, Ghulam Akbar Khotal, Hasib Zuber Mulla, Anwar Ali Javed, Atif Nasir Mulla, Samir Mulla, Muzamil Akhtar Abdul Ansari, Arif Hussain Sadir Hussain and Mohammed Nadeem Naeemuddin Paloba.

More reports from Maharashtra
Read about: Telgi case | Mumbai blasts

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments


Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.