The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

317 candidates in fray for Meghalaya polls

February 12, 2003 02:18 IST

A total of 317 candidates are left in the fray for the February 26 assembly election in the Northeastern state of Meghalaya, after the last date for the withdrawal of nominations passed on Monday.

Chief Minister Dr Flinder Anderson Khonglam is locked in a five-corner contest from Sohra on a Hill State People's Democratic Party  ticket while Deputy Chief Minister D D Lapang [Congress] is fighting a four-corner contest from his earlier constituency Nongpoh.

Former chief minister Salseng Marak [Congress] is facing a straight fight with National Congress Party candidate Timothy Shira from Resubelpara. Another former chief minister E K Mawlong [United Democratic Party] is also contesting a solo rival in Stanlywiss Rymbai [Congress] from Umroi.

Assembly Speaker E D Marak [NCP] fights four others from Kharkutta, while Home (police) Minister Lotsing A Sangma [NCP] is locked in a triangular contest from Baghmara.

Power Minister Martle N Mukhim [Meghalaya Democratic Party] is in the ring with five other contestants from Dienglieng, while Higher and Technical Education Minister Dr Donkupar Roy [UDP] is facing a six-corner contest from Shella constituency.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Meghalaya
© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

People Who Read This Also Read

'Pandits being ignored'

Cong starts campaign in Himachal

Multi-cornered contests in Himachal

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.