Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article
Home > Cricket > The Cup > Reuters > Report

India elect to field against Sri Lanka

March 23, 2007 19:05 IST

India skipper Rahul Dravid won the toss and asked Sri Lanka to bat first in their must-win World Cup Group B game in Trinidad on Friday.

India, facing elimination if they lose, made one change by including off-spinner Harbhajan Singh in place of leggie Anil Kumble as the only specialist spinner.

Sri Lanka, who have virtually qualified, also made one change by drafting in paceman Dilhara Fernando in place of all-rounder Farveez Maharoof.

Bangladesh, the third team, would go through if India lose and they avoid defeat in the last group game against winless Bermuda.


India: Robin Uthappa, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Dhoni (w/k), Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel.

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara (w/k), Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Dilhara Fernando, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan.

The Cup: The Complete Coverage

Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!

© Copyright 2007 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.