Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article
Home > Cricket > The Cup > Report

Twenty/20: Bengal, Haryana win

Haresh Pandya in Motera (Ahmedabad) | April 15, 2007 15:01 IST
Last Updated: April 16, 2007 00:19 IST

Sunny Singh's half-century helped Haryana beat Madhya Pradesh by 46 runs in a group match of the inter-state Twenty/20 tournament at the Sardar Patel Gujarat Stadium in Motera on Sunday night.
Batting first, Haryana posted 173 for 6 in the stipulated 20 overs thanks to Sunny Singh with a sparkling 51.
Madhya Pradesh wilted both under the floodlights as well pressure for having to chase such a huge score and was shot out for a paltry 127 in a shade under 20 overs.

Rahul Bakshi was the highest scorer for MP with 35.

For Haryana, Jitendra Birla was the most successful bowler with 3 for 24.

In an earlier match, Powered by brilliant batting performance by Rana Chowdhary and a rich haul of wickets by pace bowler Shib Shankar Paul, Bengal defeated Tamil Nadu by 16 runs in a Group B match of the Twenty-20 inter-state tournament Sardar Patel Gujarat Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday morning.

Batting first, Bangal were precariously placed at one place when they were 94 for 4 at the start of the 15th over. But then Chowdhary took the situation in his hand batted like a man possessed and blasted a breezy 57 off just 28 balls. He remained undefeated till the end and hit 4 sixes and 4 boundaries. But for him, Bengal would not have scored 159 for 5 in their stipulated 20 overs as they eventually did.

Earlier, captain Manoj Tewary had tried to lend some respectability to the Bengal innings by scoring 52 off 41 deliveries that was studded with 4 fours and 1 six. Abhishek Jhunjhunwala also played a brief but crucial knock of 20 in 20 balls, hitting 4 fours and 1 six.

For Tamil Nadu, V Yomahesh was the most successful bowler with figures of 4-0-21-2. Tamil Kumaran and R. Ashwin took 1 wicket each.

Tamil Nadu players were expected to give Bengal a good fight but they seemed to have accepted the defeat from the beginning itself as their wickets kept falling regularly with only M Vijay (34 runs off 21balls with 3 sixers), V Devendran (28 off 20 balls with 4 fours and 1 six) and skipper S Badrinath (22 off 23 balls with 3 fours) showing some fighting ability. Former India opener Krishnamachari Srikkanth's son S Aniruda, who opened the innings with Devendran, and Hemang Badani each fell for 8 runs only.

The Bengal bowlers and fielders were outstanding in the field, allowing no undue luxury to the Tamil Nadu batsmen. Paul finished with figures of 4-0-22-4. Shourasish Lahiry claimed 2 wickets in his 4 overs while giving away 25 runs.

Tamil Nadu ended up with 143 for 9 in 20 overs, losing the contest by 16 runs.

Though it was Sunday, there were no spectators to speak of, except a couple of dozens in one stand, to witness the Bengal versus Tamil Nadu match. The scorching heats as well as lack of star players in both the teams were probably the main reasons to keep the spectators away even as Gujarat Cricket Association kept the tournament free for all.

The Cup: The Complete Coverage

Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!