Print this article

Five Indians in World billiards quarter-finals

Last updated on: August 25, 2010 20:29 IST

Defending champion Pankaj Advani and veteran Geet Sethi cruised past their respective opponents to advance to the quarter-finals of the Time-format in the IBSF World Billiards Championship in Pune on Wednesday.

Eight-time World champion Sethi beat Tao Hoon Jung of Korea 1950-249, while Advani got the better of Aidan Murray of Ireland 1175-598.

Dhruv Sitwala won one of the biggest matches of Group C, defeating former World champion Peter Gilchrist of Singapore 1039-942.

Riding on a triple century break, Sitwala scored breaks of 331, 198, 162 and 146 in his third league match during which he had just 15 visits to the table.

Gilchrist reeled breaks of 408 and 257 to make the match engaging but on the table for his 16th visit, the clock signaled time out.

With two wins from Tuesday, and a match to go against Min Hu Baek, Gilchrist should make it as second player from the group to the quarter-finals.

There was just one reverse for India in the morning session when cheeky Myanmarian Kyaw Oo, former Asian Championship runner-up, defeated in-form Bhaskar Balachandra 1001-522, scoring three centuries and a double century to subdue the Indian.

Devendra Joshi also lost, but then his opponent was newly crowned Point-format champion Mike Russell and the outcome was more than expected.

Englishman Russell collated yet another seven-ton break when he produced 753 against Joshi, who was completely overwhelmed by the onslaught.

Russell had a double ton worth 243 and three centuries as he won 1644-671 as Joshi managed just one century during the thrashing.

Ashok Shandilya again lived dangerously before winning against Myanmarese Na Thway Oo 641-613.

© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.