« Back to articlePrint this article

Tata Steel Chess: Gujrathi in joint lead with Carlsen

January 22, 2022 14:32 IST

IMAGE: India's Vidit Gujrathi drew with Jan-Krzysztof Duda of Poland to take his tally to four points after the sixth round of Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2022. Photograph: Kind courtesy Tata Steel Chess/Twitter

Indian Grandmasters Vidit Gujrathi and Rameshbabu Praggnanandhaa drew their games in round six of Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2022, in Wijk Aan Zee, The Netherlands.

Gujrathi drew with Jan-Krzysztof Duda of Poland to take his tally to four points, while Praggnanandhaa (2.5 points) held Sam Shankland (USA) to a draw late on Friday.


World No. 1 Magnus Carlsen registered his second win. He defeated Richard Rapport to join the leaders Gujrathi and Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, who drew their games.

In the match against Gujrathi, Duda demonstrated very deep opening preparation with Black in the Semi-Tarrasch Defence. The moment white's pieces started lurking around the black's king, the Polish GM reacted with a nice tactical sequence giving up two minor pieces for a rook and advancing his queenside pawns. The opponents eventually agreed upon a draw by repetition.

Shankland and Praggnanandhaa made just a few original moves in a sharp line of Sveshnikov Sicilian. The American GM introduced a novelty on the move 21, but the Indian youngster demonstrated that Black had no problem reaching a draw despite a two-pawn deficit.

Sergey Karjakin scored his first victory in the tournament over Jorden Van Foreest, while Fabiano Caruana suffered a defeat at the hands of Anish Giri.

Meanwhile in the Challengers event being held simultaneously, 18-year old Indian GM Arjun Erigaisi defeated compatriot Surya Shekhar Ganguly in 42 moves to take his tally to 5.5 points. He leads the rest of the field by 1.5 points with two others in joint second with 4 points.

Standings after Round 6: Masters: 1-3. Vidit Gujrathi, Magnus Carlsen, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov -- 4 points; 4-5. Richard Rapport, Andrey Esipenko -- 3.5; 6-8. Jan-Krzysztof Duda, Anish Giri, Sergey Karjakin -- 3; 9-13. Sam Shankland, Fabiano Caruana, Daniil Dubov, Jorden Van Foreest, Rameshbabu Praggnanandhaa -- 2.5; 14.Nils Grandelius -- 1.5.

© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.