« Back to articlePrint this article

Gangulee shocks Anjali Bhagwat

December 08, 2005 23:28 IST

In a major upset, CISF sharpshooter Kuheli Gangulee snatched the gold medal, relegating twice Olympian Anjali Bhagwat of Maharashtra to the bronze medal, in the 50 metres women's rifle event, in the 49th National Shooting Championship, at SAAP Shooting complex at Gachibowli, Hyderabad, on Thursday.

Another Olympian, Gagan Narang (Indian Airlines) disappointed the local crowd, finishing third. He scored a mere 695.7 points in the 10 metres men's rifle event. Former World Cup medallist Abhinav Bindra of Punjab emerged winner, withstanding a tough fight from Navy marksman Sanjeev Rajput.

Pooja Reddy of Indian Airlines took the gold in the 50 metres rifle event for junior women.

Meanwhile, Amit Sanghi, snatched the gold in the men's clay pigeon skeet event with 133 points in a nail-biting finish. Trailing a point behind qualifying round leader Baba Bedi of Chandigarh, Sanghi shot well in the final round to pip Bedi by one point and grab the gold to the delight of the local crowd, who were disappointed earlier with the dismal performance of Narang.

Reacting to his stellar performance in the final round, Sanghi said he was happy to win the medal before the home crowd and family members. Sanghi, who will represent India in the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne, attributed his victory to his Peruvian coach Juan Giha and physical trainer Chandrasekharan.

He also credited his family members for being able to perform the dual role as the organiser of the event and also competitor in the first National Championship held in Andhra Pradesh.


50-metre Rifle (Junior women): 1. Pooja Reddy (Indian Airlines) 562.0 points, 2. Sharada Thapa (IN) 557.0 points, 3. Navjeeth Kaur Thillong (Indian Airlines) 552.0 points.

Skeet National Championship (men): 1. Amit Sanghi (AP) 133.0 points, 2. Baba Bedi (Chandigarh) 132.0 points, 3. Amardeep Singh (Chandigarh) 129.0 points.

50 metre rifle (women): 1. Kuheli gangulee (CISF) 667.2 points, 2. Anuja Jung (RSCB) 667.1 points, 3. Anjali Bhagwat (Mah) 666.0 points.

10 metre rifle (men): 1. Abhinav Bindra (Punjab) 698.8 points, 2. Sanjeev Rajput (Navy) 697.4 points, 3. Gagan Narang (Indian Airlines) 695.7 points.

10 metres rifle (junior men): 1. Pulchand Bangar (Mah) 590.0 points, 2. Sandeep Tarte (Mah) 587.0 points, 3. Navnath Parathade (Mah): 587.0 points.

Source: source image