» Sports » Sania to captain India Fed Cup Team

Sania to captain India Fed Cup Team

December 21, 2015 19:55 IST

World No 1 Sania Mirza was, on Monday, named captain of the Indian team for next year's Fed Cup while two six-member squads were announced by the AITA selection panel for the South Asian Games.

Sania MirzaThe selection committee, headed by S P Misra, chose a four-member team for the Asia/Oceania Group I matches in Fed Cup, to be held in Hua Hin, Thailand from February 3 to 5.

The other members of the team are country's number one singles player Ankita Raina, national champion Prerna Bhambri and Prarthana Thombare. Karman Kaur Thandi has been named the Reserve player.

Under Sania's leadership, India were promoted to Group I after doing well in season 2015 and they will strive to make it to the World Group II Play-offs.

The selectors also named a six-member men's squad for the South Asian Games, to be held in Guwahati in February.

The country's number two singles player Saketh Myneni, Ramkumar Ramanathan, Sanam Singh, Vijay Sundar Prashanth, Purav Raja and Divij Sharan are in the squad. Left-handed Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan was reserve player in the side.

The women's squad comprises Ankita, Prerna, Rishika Sunkara, Natasha Palha, Prarthana and Sharrmadaa Baluu.

Zeeshan Ai will be the coach of the men's team while Shalini Thakur Chawla will guide the women's team.

Image: Sania Mirza in action

Photograph: Eduardo Munoz/Reuters

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.