« Back to articlePrint this article

Rathore wins gold in shooting nationals

December 25, 2012 20:29 IST

Athens Olympics silver-medallist Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore on Tuesday, clinched the double trap gold medal ahead of former world number one Ronjan Sodhi and Mohammad Asab at the 56th Shooting National Championship in New Delhi.

In the men's double trap event, Army's Rathore shot 144+46 to bag the yellow metal. The silver was won by Mohammad Asab from UP after he totalled 141+46 while Sodhi won the bronze with a score of 138 + 48.

In the double trap junior men's event, Shayan Masood of Delhi, who finished fourth in the senior section, won the gold with the score of 136. The silver medal was won by Ankur Mittal of Haryana for scoring 134 while Asher Noria of Andhra won the bronze with a score of 131.

In the centre fire pistol men's event, Omkar Singh of Army was leading on the first day of this event along with Amit Kumar Pilaniya of BSF who scored 289 followed by Samaresh Jung (288).

In the junior category, Akshay Jain of Punjab was leading with a score of 287 followed by Ajitesh Kaushal (283) of ONGC and Samarjit Singh (281) of Uttrakhand.

In the rifle prone women's event, Deepali Deshpande of Maharashtra was leading with a score of 590 followed by Rajkumari Rathore of MP who shot 589 and Lajja Gauswami (588)of Gujarat.

In the junior category, Karuna Sagar of UP along with Jayashree Das of West Bengal were leading with score of 582 and Tejaswini Muley (589) of Maharashtra followed them.

© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.