» Sports » Batra elected vice-president of Asian Hockey Federation

Batra elected vice-president of Asian Hockey Federation

Source: PTI
January 18, 2011 14:12 IST

Hockey India secretary general Narinder Batra has been elected to the post of vice president of the Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) at its recent Congress held at Kuala Lumpur.

Batra polled the second highest number of votes among the eleven candidates in the fray for vice president last Sunday. He will hold office till 2014.

The sitting AHF president Sultan Azlan Shah, secretary general P Alagendra and treasurer Fumio Ogura were elected unopposed, a Hockey India release said.

The AHF vice presidents elected are:

1.  Muneyoshi Ueda: Japan

2.  Narinder Batra: India

3.  Chaiyapak Siriwat: Thailand

4.  Qasim Zia: Pakistan

5.  Hong Moon Pyo: Korea (By virtue of reservation made for host country of next Asian Games as per AHF constitution)

6.  Mrs Shin Jung Hee: Korea (Women Representative).

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.