» Sports » Lyngkhoi, Babbar to represent India in Asian Marathon

Lyngkhoi, Babbar to represent India in Asian Marathon

February 18, 2013 14:52 IST

Mumbai Marathon winners, Binning Lyngkhoi and Lalita Babbar, will represent India in the men's and women's section of the 14th Asian Marathon Championship to be held in Hong Kong (China) on February 24.

Armyman Lyngkhoi and Babbar had emerged Indian winners in the Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon last month.

A total of 41 top Asian marathoners from 21 countries will compete in the Asian Marathon Championship, which will be a part of the 17th Standard Chartered Hong Kong Marathon.

Out of the elite field in the Hong Kong Marathon, the best finishers among Asians nominated by their respective country's federation, will be declared winners.

Individual participation from other Asian countries is also allowed but they will not be considered for results in the Asian Marathon Championship.

Meanwhile, national record holder K T Irfan has been selected to represent the country in the IAAF Race Walking Challenge to be held at Taicang in China on March 1.

Gaurav Kumari, who had finished second in 20km in the inaugural National Race Walking Championships with a timing of 1:43:16, will represent India in the women's category in the event.

Irfan had finished a creditable 10th in the 2012 London Olympics while setting a national record of 1:20:21.

Winners in men's and women's categories of the inaugural National Race Walking Championships in 20km event in Patiala, Gurmeet Singh and Kushbir Kaur will spearhead the Indian challenge in the Asian 20km Race Walking Championships to be held at Naomi City in Japan on March 10.

Besides Gurmeet, who had won silver in the same event last year, other Indian men taking part in the event are Chandan Singh, Babubhai Panucha, Baljinder Singh and Surinder Singh.

Deepmala will be the other Indian woman in the fray.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.