» Sports » India to play Holland in Olympics hockey opener

India to play Holland in Olympics hockey opener

Source: PTI
May 22, 2012 17:40 IST

Eight-time hockey champions, India will open their campaign against The Netherlands on July 30 in the men's competition at the London Olympics.

The London Olympic Organising Committee, along with the International Hockey Federation (FIH), on Tuesday, unveiled the hockey competition schedule.

Indian hockey playersIndia, who have been clubbed with Germany, Korea, New Zealand, Belgium and Netherlands in Pool B, will play their second match on August 1 against the Black Caps.

India, which won its first Olympic gold medal in 1928, will next take on current Olympic champions Germany on August 3, before locking horns with Korea a day after. India will play Belgium in their last preliminary match on August 7.

The matches will be played at the Riverbank Arena at the Olympic Park.

In the women's competition, Australia take on neighbours New Zealand, while hosts Great Britain's first match will be against Japan. Current Olympic champions, the Netherlands will open campaign against Belgium, who are making their first appearance at an Olympic Games.

Indian women have failed to qualify for the Olympics.

"As the London Games approach, the excitement in the hockey world continues to build. Now that we know the official schedule of the men's and women's tournaments, the dream of one of the most highly anticipated Olympic Games is quickly becoming a reality," Leandro Negre, FIH President, said.

"We look forward to working with LOCOG in the next few months to make sure that everything is ready to welcome the world's top hockey players to an unforgettable Games," he said.

Based on world rankings, the 12 teams, in both men's and women's sections, are divided into two pools of six and each team plays every other in their pool.

The top two teams in each pool qualify for the semi-finals, with the winners then going head-to-head for the gold medal. The other teams in the two groups play each other to determine final placement.

Schedule of men's hockey competition:

Pool A: Australia, Great Britain, Spain, Pakistan, Argentina, South Africa.

Pool B: Germany, Netherlands, Korea, New Zealand, India, Belgium.

July 30: Korea vs New Zealand; Australia vs South Africa; Spain vs Pakistan; Netherlands vs India; Great Britain vs Argentina; Germany vs Belgium.

August 1: Spain vs Australia; Belgium vs Netherlands; New Zealand vs India; South Africa vs Great Britain; Pakistan vs Argentina; Korea vs Germany.

August 3: Australia vs Argentina; Netherlands vs New Zealand; Germany vs India; Great Britain vs Pakistan; South Africa vs Spain; Belgium vs Korea.

August 5: New Zealand vs Belgium; Pakistan vs South Africa; India vs Korea; Netherlands vs Germany; Great Britain vs Australia; Argentina vs Spain.

August 7: Australia vs Pakistan; Korea vs Netherlands; Argentina vs South Africa; India vs Belgium; Spain vs Great Britain; Germany vs New Zealand.

August 9: 9th-10th Place: 5th Pool A vs 5th Pool B; 7th-8th Place: 4th Pool A vs 4th Pool B; Semi-final 1; Semi-final 2

August 11: 11th-12th Place: 6th Pool A vs 6th Pool B; 5th-6th Place: 3rd Pool A vs 3rd Pool B; Bronze Medal Match; Gold Medal Match.

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.