NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Lahiri wins Haryana Open

Lahiri wins Haryana Open

September 27, 2009 21:45 IST

Anirban Lahiri posted a steady 69 in the final round of the Aircel-PGTI's Haryana Open 2009 to clinch his maiden professional title in Panchkula on Sunday.

Lahiri totaled 10 under 278 for the tournament to finish one stroke ahead of C Muniyappa at the Panchkula Golf Club.

Lahiri took home the winner's cheque of Rs 4,84,950 to climb from fourth to third on the Aircel-PGTI Order of Merit for 2009.

Lahiri up a birdie on the very first hole, helped by a top-class drive and an equally good chip shot from the front edge of the green.

The 22-year-old, who was tied fourth after round three, raised his title hopes after he birdied the seventh.

Lahiri was in the joint lead along with local lad Mandeo Singh Pathania at the turn as Harendra Gupta, the overnight leader, slipped down the leaderboard due to his poor run on the front nine.

Lahiri added two more birdies to his card on the 10th and 12th to become the sole leader. He made a good 15 feet putt for birdie on the 12th and followed that up with a 12-footer for par on the 13th.

The Asian Tour regular found the trees with his tee shot on the 16th but recovered well with two left-handed shots to make a bogey on that hole. He then pulled it left on the final hole but made a good recovery with a second shot (seven iron) from an accurate chip to round off his week on a high.

"It's a wonderful feeling after winning my first ever professional title. I have waited a long time for this moment since I have been on the threshold of a win several times in the past but not really got there," Lahri said.

"I feel a lot lighter now after having achieved this milestone. It's now time to build on this victory with equally good performances in the future.

"I knew I was in the reckoning when I saw the leaderboard at the turn. At that stage I felt I needed about two to three birdies on the back nine to seal the title as players in the leader group generally find it difficult to make too many birdies on the back nine during the final round.

"That's exactly what happened today since the three players in the leader group (Amardip Sinh Malik, Mandeo Singh Pathania and Harendra Gupta) found it tough to get back into the game on the back nine," Lahiri added.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.