» Sports » ISL trophy launched in presence of icon players

ISL trophy launched in presence of icon players

October 05, 2014 19:19 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

ISL players during the unvieling of the trophy in Mumbai

The glittering trophy, which will be awarded to the winner of the Indian Super League, was unveiled by chairperson of IMG-Reliance, Nita Ambani, in the presence of icon players Alessandro Del Piero and Fredrik Ljungberg among others.

Ambani is also the founder and chairperson of Football Sports Development.

Designed by Frazer And Haws, the Hero ISL trophy stands 26 inches tall. The logo on the top band has the ISL colours assigned to it and the handles are ornately carved and embellished with 24k gold gilt to imbue a sense of pride when held up.

Joining Ambani on the stage were world footballing legends and icon players of eight Indian Super League clubs – Ljungberg (Mumbai City FC), Del Piero (Delhi Dynamos FC), Joan Capdevila (NorthEast United FC), David Trezeguet (FC Pune City), Robert Pirès  (FC Goa), Mikaël Silvestre (Chennaiyin FC), Luis Garcia (Atlético de Kolkata) and David James (Kerala Blasters FC).

Speaking on the occasion, Ambani said, "It's a momentous day for all of us today as I stand along with the world's footballing legends to unveil the pride of Indian Super League. As these role models have inspired hundreds of thousands of players worldwide, I am sure the ISL trophy will also stand as a symbol of aspiration for many youngsters in an emergent India.

"The Indian Super League trophy is detailed to perfection by Indian artisans who were trained in London, thus exemplifying the genius of Indian artistry and world-class craftsmanship. It's 'made in India' design embodies our love and passion for this beautiful game and it equally represents our ‘made for world’ aspirations."

Sanjay Gupta, COO, Star India, further added, "The Hero Indian Super League is a marquee football tournament wherein accomplished footballers, who have excelled on the international stage along with best-of-the-best of Indian football, will get to compete for the ultimate honour and it is only befitting that they compete for one of the most exquisite trophies ever crafted."

Get Rediff News in your Inbox: