» Sports » India's Rani, Sardar make it to hockey All Stars team

India's Rani, Sardar make it to hockey All Stars team

Source: PTI
December 18, 2010 17:48 IST

India's teen wizard Rani Rampal and defender Sardar Singh have made it to the FIH All Stars team, International Hockey Federation announced on Saturday.

Rani Rampal, made a cut in the women's category after she had an outstanding year on the field.

The 15-year-old had earlier in the year been adjudged the player of the tournament at the hockey World Cup held in Argentina for being the top field goal scorer.

Sardar Singh, who is hailed as a world class defender, made it to the 18-member squad on the back of some consistent performances over the year which saw the India team finish on podium during the recently concluded Asian Games at Guangzhou, China and Commonwealth Games in Delhi.

The two players will be a part of an elite contingent which figures the likes of five-time nominees Luciana Aymar, Australian skipper Jamie Dwyer and Dutch drag-flick specialist Teun de Nooijer.

The three players have so far fetched a staggering 14 FIH Player of the Year titles over the past decade.

Among the coaches, Argentina's Carlos Retegui and Danny Kerry of England have been named in the women's All Stars list while Kookaburra's boss Ric Charlesworth and Markus Weise of

Germany found themselves a place in the men's list.

Retegui had a near flawless 12 months, guiding Las Leonas to success at the BDO FIH World Cup and Samsung FIH Champions Trophy, while Danny Kerry's England team took great strides forward by winning a trio of bronze medals at the Champions Trophy, World Cup and Commonwealth Games tournaments.

Charlesworth's inclusion is no surprise considering his staggering coaching achievements this year, overseeing Australian triumphs at the ABN AMRO FIH Champions Trophy, Hero Honda FIH World Cup and the Commonwealth Games.

Markus Weise, meanwhile, got the recognition for directing exciting young Germany team to a silver medal at the Hero Honda FIH World Cup.

Each FIH All Star list was created using the recommendations and opinions of various hockey experts from across the globe including players, officials, coaches and journalists.

Women's All Star Squad: Luciana Aymar (Arg), Soledad Garcia (Arg), Noel Barrionuevo (Arg), Carla Rebecchi (Arg), Casey Eastham (Aus), Madonna Blyth (Aus), Fu Baorong (Chn), Zhao  Yudiao (Chn), Helen Richardson (Eng), Rani Rampal (Ind), Beth Storry (Eng), Crista Cullen (Eng), Natascha Keller (Ger), Maartje Paumen (Ned), Naomi van As (Ned), Marsha Marescia (RSA), Joyce Sombroek (Ned), Kayla Sharland (NZ).

Coaches: Carlos Retegui (Arg) and Danny Kerry (Eng).

Men's All Star Squad: Jamie Dwyer (Aus), Ashley Jackson (Eng), Rehan Butt (Pak), Barry Middleton (Eng), David Alegre (Esp), Des Abbott (Aus), Eddie Ockenden (Aus), Guus Vogels

(Ned), James Fair (Eng), Jong Ho Seo (Kor), Lucas Villa (Arg), Matthias Witthaus (Ger), Max Muller (Ger), Moritz Fürste (Ger), Nick Wilson (NZ), Sardar Singh (Ind), Teun de Nooijer (Ned), Tobias Hauke (Ger).

Coaches:  Ric Charlesworth (Aus) and Markus Weise (Ger).

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.