» Sports » Mohun Bagan coach Santosh Kashyap resigns

Mohun Bagan coach Santosh Kashyap resigns

Source: PTI
October 13, 2012 21:21 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Mohun Bagan's merry-go-round with their coaches continued for yet another season with Santosh Kashyap becoming the latest victim after their string of poor shows.

In a press statement, Mohun Bagan announced on Saturday that the chief coach had taken the responsibility of the team's below average performance and resigned.

"His letter has been duly accepted by the club," it added.

For a team that has seen more than half a dozen coaches in last three seasons, Kashyap's resignation was seen imminent especially after their early Federation Cup ouster and back to back losses to start the sixth I-League.

But the sudden decision three days ahead of the All Airlines Gold Cup final against Mohammadan Sporting seemed a trifle baffling.

The Mohun Bagan coach, in fact, put up a brave face in Friday's post-match conference and had said, "I'm still waiting for my first win... But I'm sure this team will spring back into action once we get a win."

He also had opted not to comment when asked about his future at Mohun Bagan.

In fact, it was a repeat of last season in the Mohun Bagan camp as it was exactly a year ago, their high profile Englishman coach Steve Darby had tendered his resignation following their Federation Cup elimination.

Meanwhile, a couple of foreign coaches names like David Booth and former Mohun Bagan player Igor Shkvyrin are the doing rounds, especially after the fans angry protests after their 1-2 loss to United SC on Friday.

The disgruntled fans, armed with paper missiles and empty bottles, called for Kashyap's ouster and even attacked all the vehicles coming out of Yuba Bharati Krirangan on Friday to vent their ire.

Mohun Bagan, who have been without a trophy since 2009, have parted ways with eight coaches, including foreigners Bencherifa and Darby since season 2009-10 (see box).

In fact, after parting ways with Mohun Bagan, Bencherifa went on to win the I-League and the Federation Cup for Salgaocar as the Moroccan along with former defender Subrata Bhattacharya now have become top choices for the plum post by the supporters.

Veteran Chuni Goswami has openly called for the two names and said, "Subrata and Karim can make this team perform."


2009-10: Karim Bencherifa, Satyajit Chatterjee and Biswajit Bhattacharya

2010-11: Stanley Rozario, Subhas Bhowmick

2011-12: Steve Darby, Subrata Bhattacharya and Prasanta Banerjee (TD & Coach)

2012-13: Santosh Kashyap.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.