» Sports » I-League: Clubs form IPFCA to safeguard interest

I-League: Clubs form IPFCA to safeguard interest

Source: PTI
March 10, 2012 17:55 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

In an unified effort, twelve I-League club owners and representatives have decided to launch the Indian Professional Football Clubs Association (IPFCA).

The decision was taken following a meeting held at the Ashok Piramal Group Business Centre, in Mumbai, on Saturday.

The conclusive idea of forming the IPFCA is to safeguard the interest of its member clubs, promote and popularize football in India.

The IPFCA, it was decided, will be funded by member clubs and formed under the Society Registration Act 1860.

There was detailed discussion amongst the club owners and representatives regarding the progress made towards setting a focussed approach for making I-league a separate entity in which the clubs would have major stakes.

Members expressed deep concern with regards to the departure of Mahindra United and JCT from Indian football and expressed their anguish that unless corrective suitable action is taken, others may follow suit.

The clubs also spelt out IPFCA objectives which include the following:
Promote and safeguard the common interests of the clubs,
Popularise the I-League across India,
Help make the I-League sustainable and profitable,
Encourage the formation of new professional clubs,
Share best practices among member clubs,
Get the I-League teams to play in the Asian Champions league.

The clubs who attended the meeting are Kingfisher East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, Prayag United SC, Salgaocar SC, Dempo SC, Sporting Clube de Goa, Chirag Kerala, Mumbai FC, Air-India, Shillong Lajong FC, Pune FC. Churchill Brothers requested 'leave of absence', but offered total support towards the formation of the IPFCA.

It was also proposed that the registered office of the IPFCA will be in Pune.

An official launch of the IPFCA is expected soon.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2022

IPL 2022