» Sports » Punjab emerge champions in senior hockey national

Punjab emerge champions in senior hockey national

Source: PTI
October 03, 2012 07:57 IST

An own goal in the second minute of extra-time helped Punjab register a 2-1 victory over Air India and claim the second Hockey India Senior Men's National championship title in Bangalore.

After a blank first-half, Punjab took the lead through Prabhdeep Singh in the 36th minute before Air India scored an equaliser a couple of minutes later when Vinaya Vokkaliga (38th min) converted a penalty corner.

With the regulation period ending in a 1-1 deadlock, the extra-time was enforced and in the second minute, Gurbaaj Singh's hard hit from the right went into the goal off defender Joga Singh's stick.

Earlier on the day, Karnataka beat defending champions champions Haryana 2-1 to finish third in the tournament.

Karnataka scored once in each half through MB Aiyappa and skipper VR Raghunath. While Aiyappa struck in the 24th minute from a goalmouth scramble following a left-wing move, Raghunath converted a penalty corner in the 41st minute.

Haryana captain Sardar Singh scored with a reverse hit in the 60th minute to reduce the margin.

Prabhdeep Singh was adjudged Man of the Final, special awards were presented to Arjun Halappa of Air India (Best Forward of the tournament), Gurjinder Singh of Punjab (Best Defender of the tournament) and MB Aiyappa of Karnataka (Upcoming Player of the tournament).

Karnataka Chief Minister, Jagadish Shettar was the chief guest on the occasion.

Punjab, bronze medallists last year, were worthy winners of the trophy given the abundant talent in the side, besides the presence of youngsters.

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.