» Sports » Hockey India League signs up 10 Australian players

Hockey India League signs up 10 Australian players

Source: PTI
October 16, 2012 15:50 IST

Hockey India on Tuesday signed up as many as 10 current Australian players for its inaugural franchise-based league (HIL) to be held across different cities of the country from January next year.

These 10 players include four Australian co-captains -- Mark Knowles, Fergus Kavanagh, Liam de Young and Edward Ockenden. Luke Doerner, Russell Ford, Kiel Brown, Simon Orchard, Christopher Ciriello and Rob Hammond are the other star players who will also be a part of next month's Hockey India League Players Auction.

With the addition of these 10 players, the total number of Australians who have made themselves available for the HIL has rose to 11.

Kookaburras captain Jamie Dwyer was the first to join the league after Hockey India named him as one of the brand ambassadors of the six-team event to be held from January 5 to February 3, 2013.

Hockey India secretary general and HIL chairman Narinder Batra said the presence of the Australian stars would add to the quality of the league.

"It is our pleasure to unveil a star-studded list of Australian players who have signed contracts to be available for the Hockey India League Players Auction," he said.

The Australians join 150 Indian players and 15 Pakistanis, who have already signed up for the HIL Players' Auction.

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.