» Sports » Govinda named chairman of Hockey India selectors

Govinda named chairman of Hockey India selectors

May 31, 2013 14:55 IST

Olympian B P Govinda was named chairman of Hockey India's nine-member selection committee on Friday.

The selection committee will work jointly with the HI's High Performance and Development Committee to identify fresh talent in the country.

Govinda represented the country twice in Olympics (1972 & 1976), two World Cups (1973 & 1975) and three Asian Games (1970, 1974 & 1978).

"The other members in the Selection Committee are Olympian Syed Ali (1964 Olympics), former international player Dr. R P Singh (World Cup in1986 & 1990), former Captain Mr. Gagan Ajit Singh (Olympics in 2000 & 2004), former Captain Mr. Arjun Halappa (Olympics in 2004 & Commonwealth Games in 2010), former Captain Ms. Savitri Purty (Asian Games in 1986), former Captain Ms. Mamta Kharab (Commonwealth Games in 2002 & 2006, Asia Cup in 2004), former Captain Ms. Surinder Kaur (Asia Cup in 2004) and former Captain Ms. Saba Anjum (Commonwealth Games 2002 & 2006, Asia Cup 2004 and Asian Games in 2002)," the HI said in a statement.

The newly-appointed Selection Committee will come into effect from July 1 for a period of one year..

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.