« Back to articlePrint this article

Fed Cup boxing: Nengneihat wins; Haryana bag top honours

February 19, 2012 12:32 IST

Young Manipur pugilist S Nengneihat Kom (48kg) capped of a brilliant performance as she went on to beat Haryana's Neetu in the summit clash of the light fly-weight division in the 8th Federation Cup Women's Boxing Tournament in Guwahati on Sunday.

Kom's aggressive style coupled with her exceptional footwork proved too hot for Haryana state champion to handle.

By the end of first two rounds, the feisty 17-year-old was already leading 13:7 in what was an enthralling display of skill and agility.

Neetu tried hard to make a comeback, winning the third round 5:6 but the Manipuri boxer came back strongly in the fourth to settle the issue 27:18.

The victory led to Kom winning her first gold medal on the senior tour.

Kom, who is a product of five-time world champion MC Mary Kom's academy in Manipur, has shown great potential and hopes to follow in the footsteps of her idol and coach.

In the light welter-weight category, it was experience that prevailed over youth. Defending champion Suman of the All India Police team upstaged Current Youth World and National Champion Minu Basumatary of Assam 12:8 in an exciting contest.

In the feather weight division, local girl and 2011 Youth World Championship bronze medallist Pwilao Basumatary barely had to break a sweat against Pooja Pannu of Haryana.

The 18-year-old was at her menacing best as she devoured the hapless Pooja in just two rounds, winning 17:1.

Haryana's Sweety Boora successfully defended her title, drubbing bronze medallist at the 12th Senior Women National Boxing Championships, Alari Boro of Assam in closely fought contest.

In the Super Heavy weight division, former Youth National Champion Nidhi Chopra beat bronze medallist at the senior nationals B V Padmavathi of Andhra Pradesh while in the Heavy weight cadre, Darshana overpowered P Lakshmi Latha also of Andhra Pradesh.

With 4 gold medals, 2 silver and 2 bronze medals, Haryana bagged the top spot. Hosts Assam took the runners-up trophy with 2 gold medals, 3 silver and 2 bronze while AP brought up the third place with 1 gold medal 2 silver and 5 bronze medals.

© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.