» Sports » Coronavirus delays process of National Sports Awards

Coronavirus delays process of National Sports Awards

Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Harish Kotian
April 26, 2020 20:33 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

'Generally, the process should have been completed by the month of April but this year the situation is unprecedented.'

Deepa Malik

IMAGE: Paralympic silver-medallist Deepa Malik became the first Indian woman para-athlete and the oldest to be conferred the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi last year. Photograph: PTI

The process to pick this year's national sports awards has been delayed because of the nation-wide lockdown to combat the coronavirus pandemic and the applications will be invited next month, a Sports Ministry official said.


The ministry generally invites the nominations for the awards in April while the ceremony to confer them is held on August 29 on the occasion of National Sports Day celebrated to mark the birth anniversary of hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand.

But this year, the process is yet to start because of the pandemic, which has so far led to death of more than 800 people in the country and over 2 lakh globally.

The official said the delay is inevitable considering the present circumstances.

"The ministry is yet to issue the circular for National Sports Award applications. Generally, the process should have been completed by the month of April but this year the situation is unprecedented," the official said.

"But hopefully the circular will be issued in May."

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought all sporting activities to a standstill not just in the country but across the world.

"Since the last one month all the offices in the country, including government establishments and those of NSFs (National Sports Federations), have been running from home, so the delay was bound to happen," he said.

The National Sports Awards include Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, the Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyanchand which were conferred every year by the President of India at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

The recipients are selected from a wide range of nominations by a Sports Ministry-appointed committee which includes renowned sports personalities, ministry officials and journalists.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Harish Kotian© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.