NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Baljinder wins Olympic quota; Gurmeet wins silver

Baljinder wins Olympic quota; Gurmeet wins silver

March 12, 2012 17:24 IST

Punjab athlete Baljinder Singh has earned a berth for the London Olympics after finishing fifth in the Asian 20 Km Race Walking championships with a timing of 1:22:12.

The 'A' qualification standard for the London Olympics was 1:22:30. The 25-year-old Baljinder, hails from Dera Bassi, about 20 km from Chandigarh on the Delhi-Chandigarh national highway.

En route to Nomi (Japan), Baljinder won the Indian trials at Patiala on February 15 with a noteworthy 1:22:01.

A maximum of three athletes with "A" qualification performance can represent a country in an event at the Olympic Games.

In the same event, Baljinder' compatriot and national record-holder Gurmeet Singh, who has already attained the Olympic qualification with a timing of 1:22:05 in Dublin last year, won a silver medal.

He timed a commendable 1:21:31 for the silver medal.

Gurmeet had clocked an impressive 1:20:23 during the inter-railway championships at Bhubaneswar last month.

Gurmeet led race until the last kilometre and barely missed the gold in just 9 seconds to China's Zhu Chundong (1:21:22).

For Chundong, it was a personal best as he improved nearly 7 minutes from his previous record. Gurmeet had finished seventh here last year.

Korean walker Byun Young Jun finished third for the bronze medal in 1:21:42.

Besides the above two Indians, Surinder Singh also timed creditably in 1:23:53 well ahead of Abbal Singh Rana (1:27:50).

Although only one athlete from a country is allowed to compete in each category (men / women) at the Asian race walking championships, India and Iran obtained special permission to field additional entries to attain Olympic qualification as the Nomi event was one of the pre-designated races to achieve the London grade.

In the women's race, Deepmala Devi finished outside the podium with her fourth place finish in 1:42:01. China's Ding Huiquin took the top spot in 1:30:14. Rei Inoue of Japan (1:34:06) and Nguyen Thi Thanh of Vietnam (1:35:13) had won the silver and bronze medals respectively.

Among the other women walkers from India, national champion Khusbir Kaur finished 5th overall in 1:44:30 while Gaurav Kumari did not finish the race.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.