» Sports » Australia in seventh heaven after clinching Azlan Shah title

Australia in seventh heaven after clinching Azlan Shah title

March 17, 2013 21:23 IST

Australia extended their domination in the Sultan Azlan Shah hockey tournament as they bagged their seventh title after a 3-2 win over hosts Malaysia in the summit clash in Ipoh, Malaysia on Sunday.

In an action-packed final match, Australia's Trent Milton fired in the winning goal from a pass by Robert Hammond just ahead of the final hooter to stun the 15000-odd Malaysian supporters.

With attack as the watchword, Malaysia pressed for an early goal and Saari Faizal struck from the team's second penalty corner in the fourth minute.

Stung by the early goal, the Australians struck back and the first move had an air of the typical Aussie assurance. Daniel Mirecki dived for his life to get his lunging stick but not good enough to get the angle right.

Not long after, Daniel Beal found himself in a collision with Malaysian goalkeeper Kumar and had to be helped out. However, Kumar quickly recovered from the huddle and got back into action.

With Jacob Whetton well bottled up by Malaysian defender Razie Muhammad, the man who did the star turn against New Zealand was not his usual self, much to the team's chagrin.

The first penalty corner came their way in the 27th minute when Daniel Beal found his way into the D and the obstruction earned the team the much-needed penalty corner. The drag flick of Nicholas Budgeon was a screaming winner all the way.

Buoyed by the strike, the spring in the Aussie attack gained huge strides. A scrimmage inside the Malaysian D and a quick one-two between Daniel Beal and Craig Boyne found the latter smartly tapping into the goal.

The exasperated Malaysians were clearly feeling the heat with the respite coming in the form of the half-time whistle.

Malaysia found the equalizer through Ahmed Tajudin in the 48th minute making good use of the cross from Jalil Muhammad Marhan.

Manpreet lone Indian in Sultan Azlan Shah XI

Indian midfielder Manpreet Singh was named in the Sultan Azlan Shah XI on the concluding day of the tournament which was won by Australia in Ipoh, Malaysia on Sunday.

Another Indian, drag-flicker Rupinder Pal Singh ended the tournament as joint top-scorer with Malaysia's Faizal Saari on six goals.

India finished fifth in the six-team tournament after defeating arch-rivals Pakistan 4-2 in the fifth-sixth place classification match.

The outstanding player of tournament award was bagged by Malaysia's Muhammad Razie Abdul Rahim. Korean team was adjudged the winner of the fair play award.

Sultan Azlan Shah XI:

Goalkeeper: S Kumar (Malaysia)

Defender: Imran Muhammad (Pakistan), Muhammad Razie Abdul Rahim (Malaysia), Nam Hyun Woo (South Korea), Timothy Deavin (Australia),

Midfielder: Shafqat Rasool (Pakistan), Manpreet Singh (India), Glenn Simpson (Australia)

Forwards: Matt Ghobes (Australia), Jacob Vhetton (Australia), Faizal Saari (Malaysia).

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.