» Sports » Yashvir, Fernandez among six coaches named for Dronacharya

Yashvir, Fernandez among six coaches named for Dronacharya

Source: PTI
August 21, 2012 19:31 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Six top coaches of the country, including London Olympic Games bronze medallist wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt's mentor Yashvir Singh, were recommended for the prestigious Dronacharya Award.

Besides Yashvir, the other five who have been recommended by the 15-member committee for the award were India's boxing coach from Cuba B I Fernandez, athletics coach Virender Poonia, Sunil Davas (kabbadi), Dr Satyapal (parathletics) and Harendra Singh (hockey).

Fernandez, who has been involved behind the scenes for the past few years which had seen India winning two boxing medals in the Olympics, became the first foreign coach to have been recommended for the coveted award. He has been nominated for the award on special consideration.

Virender is the husband-cum-coach of discus thrower Krishna Poonia who in 2010 became the first Indian woman individual gold medal winner in athletics in the Commonwealth Games. He was also Poonia's coach in the just-concluded London Olympics where she finished seventh.

Harinder was the coach of the Indian hockey team for some months after Spaniard Jose Brasa was sacked following India's poor showing in the 2010 Asian Games till Australian Michael Nobbs took charge in August 2011.

The Dronacharya Awards committee was headed by former Indian hockey captain Aslam Sher Khan. The other members include  Rajkumar Sangwan (boxing), Dhanraj Pillai (hockey), Shiny Wilson (athletics), Morad Ali Khan (shooting), Karnam Malleswari (weightlifting), Bahadur Singh (athletics), Bhupender Dhawan (powerlifting), G S Sandhu (boxing), Ramphan Mann (wrestling), Prem Chand Degra (body building). PTI PDS

The Award, which carries Rs five lakh and a citation and is conferred to coaches of different sports for their noteworthy contribution, will be presented by President Pranab Mukherjee at Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, the National Sports Day.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2022

IPL 2022