NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » AFC U-16 C'ship: Iran beat DPR Korea to set up clash with Iraq in final

AFC U-16 C'ship: Iran beat DPR Korea to set up clash with Iraq in final

Last updated on: September 29, 2016 22:52 IST


IMAGE:  Iraq and Japan players in action during the AFC U-16 Championship in Goa on Thursday. Photograph: AIFF Media.

Iran beat defending champions DPR Korea via sudden death (6-5) after both the teams were locked 1-1 in the regulation time to set up a title clash with Iraq in the AFC U-16 Championship, in Margao on Thursday.

Mohammed Sharifi put Iran in the lead in the 19th minute before Kye Tam equalised in the second half to take the match to penalty shootout.

For Iran, Mohammad Sharifi, Amirhossein Esmaeilzadeh, Seid Ahani and substitute Alireza Asadabadi found the net in the tie-breaker. Kye Tam, Yun Min and Kim Pom Khok were successful in scoring for DPR Korea.

In the sudden death, Taha Shariati and Ali Gholam Zadeh scored for Iran. For DPR Korea, Paek Kwang Min scored while Kim Kyong Sok's shot was saved by the rival keeper to give Iran victory.

Iran controlled the proceedings from the start but were unable to make a breakthrough as they met stiff resistance from the rival defence.

With both the teams tied 1-1 in the 90 minutes of regulation time, penalty shootout was ordered without any extra time.

Iraq beat Japan

Mohammed Dawood scored a hat-trick as Iraq broke Japan's unbeaten run with a 4-2 win to secure a place in the finals of the AFC U-16 Championship, in Bambolim, Goa.

Dawood gave Iraq the lead in the 18th minute before Hiroto Yamad scored twice in the 29th minute and 42nd minute to give Japan an upper hand at half time.

Trailing 1-2 in the second half, Iran survived a scare in the opening period after the break before Muntadher Abdulsada scored the equalised in the 66th minute here at the GMC Stadium.

Dawood then netted the ball twice from the penalty to complete his hat-trick and take his team to the finals, to be played on October 2 at Nehru Stadium, Fatorda.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.