Home > Sports > Mumbai Marathon 2004


The Web


   News    |    Route map    |    Prizes    |    Results    |    Do's & Dont's    |    Marathon history
   Race Winner: (Full Marathon)
1Hendrik RamaalaSA2:15:47$25,000
2Julius SugutKenya2:16:36$15,000
3Luica TomoboTanzania2:16:50$12,500
1Voiletta VrygaPoland2:47:53$15,000
2Judith NagyHungary2:49:50$12,000
3Natalia GalushkoBelarus2:50:24$8,000
Complete results >


Race Route
A guide from the start till the finish.
  Click here for a bigger map

Set for Super Sunday
Images of runners preparing for the Mumbai International Marathon.

Meet the greats
A photo feature on the elite athletes who will grace the Marathon.


'The Mumbai Marathon was a new experience'
Mumbai Marathon Race and Finish director Bill Reynolds talks about all that goes into conducting the 42.195 kms race.
- Images: Mumbai Marathon 2004

Ramaala wins Mumbai Marathon
K C Ramu and Sarabjit Kaur emerged best respectively among the Indian men and women runners.
- My best will be at Athens: Ramaala

Running for a 'cause'
Reliance Industries' vice-chairman Anil Ambani stole the limelight at the Mumbai International Marathon on Sunday.
- Marathon's young achiever
- Of dreams and despair

Services runners sore
The armymen emerged the best Indian runners at the Mumbai Marathon but were upset at not even offered a bottle of water after the race.
- Marathon's first Indian woman

More news >>

Latest news


  • Suman Mehta, who started her career with the 800 metres, beat Sunita Godara by clocking 2 hours 43.04 minutes in 1993. Suman won two bronze medals in the 3,000m at Bangkok, three golds at the 1987 SAF Games (1,500, 3,000, 10,000 metres) before running the marathon from 1987 to 1993.

  • Asha Agarwal won the Hong Kong marathon on January 27, 1985. In September 1985 she won the gold at the Asian Track and Field meet in Jakarta, setting a record of 2 hours 48 minutes and 51 seconds, which still stands. She also won the Freedom Race in Delhi in 1989, Trinidad Marathon in 1986 and has run eight out of 26 marathons below 2 hours 50 minutes.

  • The Rath Marathon, sponsored by Shriram Industrial Enterprises Ltd, was the first women's marathon. It was held on October 24, 1982, in Delhi. Sudha Madhavan won the race in 5 hours 29 minutes and 30 seconds. The following year 20-year-old Asha Agarwal won the race in 3 hours 87 minutes and 13 seconds. Asha went on to represent India at Nagoya, Japan, on March 4, 1984.

    More ...

  • Copyright © 2004 rediff.com India Limited. All Rights Reserved.