Home > Sports > Hockey > 10th World Cup
  Sections    Past World Cups

  Past World Cups
  Slide Show
  Search Rediff

 6th World Cup, London, England, 1986
 Venue: Willesden, October 4-19, 1986
Pool A  Holland, Pakistan, England, USSR, Argentina, New Zealand
Pool B  Australia, West Germany, Spain, India, Canada, Poland

The tournament was awarded to England as 1986 marked the centenary celebrations of the Hockey Association, which was formed on January 18, 1886, in London.

This tournament also marked a new low in South Asian hockey. Both India and Pakistan had a miserable tournament, finishing 12th and 11th, respectively. India, led by Mohammed Shahid, started disastrously, losing to Poland in their opening match. They had 10 penalty corners, but couldn't convert even one. Spain were the next to humiliate the one-time champions, winning 2-1. India managed to beat Canada 2-0, but were thrashed 0-6 by Australia. Then a 2-2 draw with Germany saw them end up fifth in the six-team preliminary league. India conceded 11 goals from five matches and scored just five.

Pakistan fared worse in the preliminary stage, scoring just one victory and losing four matches.

Still worse was to follow in the classification matches. New Zealand beat India 2-1 in the match for the ninth to twelfth places and then Pakistan won the match between the humiliated Asian giants for the 11th spot, leaving India with the wooden spoon.

England, Germany, Australia and the USSR completed the semi-final line-up. Australia, spearheaded by Richard Charlesworth, easily beat the USSR in the semi-finals and went on to beat England 3-2 in the final in front of a capacity crowd to register their first and only World Cup triumph. England had beaten Germany 3-2 to enter the final.

Charlesworth was the tournament's top scorer with seven goals.

 Final Positions
1.  Australia
2.  England
3.  West Germany
4.  USSR
5.  Spain
6.  Argentina
7.  The Netherlands
8.  Poland
9.  New Zealand
10.  Canada
11.  Pakistan
12.  India

Indian Team:
Mohammed Shahid (captain), R S Rawat, Neel Kamal Singh, Pargat Singh, Mohinder Pal Singh, Vineet Kumar, M Somaya, Joaquim Carvalho, Abdul Aziz, Hardeep Singh, Tikken Singh, Marcellus Gomes, Jagbir Singh, Balwinder Singh, Thoiba Singh, Ram Prakash Singh
Coach: Ajitpal Singh
Manager: D S Murthy

 1st World Cup, 1971
 Summary | Complete Results
 2nd World Cup, 1973
 Summary | Complete Results
 3rd World Cup, 1975
 Summary | Complete Results
 4th World Cup, 1978
 Summary | Complete Results
 5th World Cup, 1982
 Summary | Complete Results
 6th World Cup, 1986
 Summary | Complete Results
 7th World Cup, 1990
 Summary | Complete Results
 8th World Cup, 1994
 Summary | Complete Results
 9th World Cup, 1998
 Summary | Complete Results

Partner Channels:
Astrology | Contests | E-cards | Money | Movies | Romance | Search | Women
Auctions | Health | Home & Decor | Tech Education | Jobs | Matrimonial | Travel
News | Cricket | Sports | NewsLinks
Shopping | Books | Music
Personal Homepages | Free Email | Free Messenger | Chat
(c) 2002 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.