You are here: Rediff Home » India » Sports » Photos
Search: The Web

  Email this Page  |   Write to us

Indy Pop @ All England Club
June 24, 2008

It's Wimbledon again. And also the time to look back at the achievements of our own players.

Wimbledon is a tournament that is known to stick to its tradition (well, things are changing a bit now), and traditionally it has been the only major where the Indians have done consistently well.

Indian players have won nine titles at various levels at the All England Club. Besides, there's a host of other good performances to be proud of. takes a look at the Indian achievement over the years. The list is chronological. Any further additions are a welcome.

1905 - B K Nehru would have become the first Indian to play at Wimbledon. He entered the competition but gave a walkover to his opponent.
1908 - A UK-based Sikh, Sardar Nihal Singh, played at the All England Club. He thus was the first Indian to play at Wimbledon.
1921 - Mohammad Sleem, a lawyer from Lahore, reached the pre-quarter-finals (last 16).
1928 - Sleem wins the Wimbledon Plate title (this tournament was played between players who lost in the first and second rounds) beating J B Gilbert 6-3, 6-3. Sleem thus became the first Indian player to win a title at the All England Club.
1929 - Jenny Sandison from Kharagpur, Bengal became the first woman of Indian origin to play at Wimbledon. She, however, made an early exit, losing in the first round.
1934 - It was a first ever. Leela Row's opening round win over G M Southwell of Great Britain made her the first Indian woman to win a round at Wimbledon.
1939 - Yet another step forward. Ghaus Mohammed became the first Indian player to reach the quarter-finals at Wimbledon. He lost to American Bobby Riggs.
1950 - Dilip Bose, by virtue of winning the inaugural Asian Championships at South Club, Calcutta, became the first Indian ever to be seeded at Wimbledon. He was seeded No. 15
1952 - Much before the advent of Sania Mirza, an Indian junior named Rita Davar had made her mark at the All England Club. Davar reached the girls' singles final.
1954 - It was yet another first, not only for India, but also for Asia. Ramanathan Krishnan made history by becoming the first Indian (as well as the first Asian) to win the boys' singles title at Wimbledon defeating Ashley Cooper 6-2, 7-5.
1958 - Premjit Lall was the second Indian to reach the boys' singles final; he lost to American Earl Bucholtz.
1960-61 - Krishnan made history again. He reached the men's singles semi-finals at the All England Club for two successive years. In 1960, he lost to Australian Neal Fraser and a year later, he was accounted for by another Aussie named Rod Laver. Both the Australians were the eventual champions in the respective years.
1962 - Krishnan earned his highest seeding at the All England Club. For that edition of the tournament, he was seeded No.4.
1973 - Vijay Amritraj, who played at Wimbledon for 17 straight years, made it to the quarter-finals for the first time, losing in five sets (4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 3-6, 5-7) to eventual champion Jan Kodes of Czechoslovakia.
1976 - Vijay, along with his brother Anand, reached the semi-finals of the men's doubles.
1979 - Amritraj was at it again. In the opening round he put out Mark Edmondson, the last Australian to win their home Grand Slam, 6-7, 4-6, 6-3, 6-2, 6-2, and in the second round he looked set to beat Bjorn Borg when he was up two sets to one and 4-1 in the 4th set. The Swede, then the three-time-defending champion, came back to win 2-6, 6-4, 4-6, 7-6, 6-2 and went on to win his fourth straight title.
1979 - Ramesh Krishnan emulates his father and wins the boys' singles title at Wimbledon, beating American Don Siegler 6-0, 6-2.
1981 - Amritraj repeated his quarter-final effort. On this occasion he managed to exact his revenge over Kodes in the opening round (in straight sets 6-0, 6-1, 7-5) and upset Brian Teacher in the second and led by two-sets-to-love in the last eight before bowing out to Jimmy Connors in five.
1985 - Amritraj makes the fourth round, accounting for 1983 French Open champion Yannick Noah along the way.
1986 - Ramesh Krishnan reached the last eight for the first and only time in his career before losing in four sets to Slobodan Zivojinovic of Yugoslavia.
1990 - Leander Paes became the third Indian player, after the two Krishnans, to win the boys' singles title at Wimbledon. He defeated Marcos Ondruska of South Africa 7-5, 2-6, 6-4.
1999 - Leander and Mahesh Bhupathi wrote another chapter in Indian history by became the first pair to win the men's doubles title at Wimbledon. The ‘Indian Express' outpaced the American-Dutch pair of Jared Palmer and Paul Haarhuis 6-7, 6-3, 6-4, 7-6
1999 - It was double delight for Leander as he teamed up with American Lisa Raymond to win the mixed doubles title that year as well. The duo edged out the Russian-Swedish combine of Anna Kournikova and Jonas Bjorkman 6-4, 3-6, 6-3.
2002 - This time it was Bhupathi's turn to win the mixed doubles title. And he did it in partnership with Russian Elena Likhovtseva. The duo beat the Slovakian-Zimbabwean pair of Daniela Hantuchova and Kevin Ullyett 6-2, 7-5.
2003 - Sania Mirza becomes the first Indian woman to win a title at Wimbledon. She paired up with Russian Alisa Kleybanova to win the girls' doubles title.
2003 - Leander teams up with the legendary Martina Navratilova to win his second mixed doubles title. The pairing easily dismisses the pair of Russian Anastasia Rodionova and Andy Ram of Israel in straight sets 6-3, 6-3.
2005 - It is Bhupathi's turn again. He partners Frenchwoman Mary Pierce to win the mixed doubles title again. They beat the pairing of Paul Hanley of Australia and Tatiana Perebiynis of Ukraine 6-4, 6-2.
© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.Disclaimer | Feedback