The Web


 Latest Sports news on mobile: sms SPRT to 7333

Home > Sports > Football > PTI > Report

Ancheri named for Arjuna Award

June 10, 2005 18:41 IST

The All India Football Federation has again proposed the name of Jo Paul Ancheri for the Arjuna Award after the versatile player missed out on the prestigious honour last year.

"We have recommended Ancheri's name for this year's award, but we have not recommended any name for the Dronacharya Award," AIFF general secretary Alberto Colaco said.

If chosen Ancheri will be the 21st footballer to win the honour. Ancheri's close friend I M Vijayan was the last footballer to bag the honour, in 2002.

The 29-year-old Ancheri, who twice won the AIFF 'Player-of-the-year' award, in 1994 and 2001, is currently recuperating in Kerala following knee surgery.

His exclusion together with that of high jumper Bobby Aloysius from last year's list of Arjuna award winners saw sportspersons, officials, coaches and enthusiasts staging protests in Thiruvananthapuram.

List of footballers who won Arjuna Award:

1. 1961: P K Banerjee - Bengal
2. 1962: T Balaram - Bengal
3. 1963: Subimal (Chuni) Goswami - Bengal
4. 1964: Jarnail Singh - Bengal
5. 1965: Arun Lal Ghosh - Railways
6. 1966: Yousuf Khan - Andhra
7. 1967: Peter Thangraj - Bengal
8. 1969: Inder Singh - Punjab
9. 1970: Syed Nayeemuddin - Bengal
10. 1971: Chandreshwar Prasad - Bengal
11. 1974: Magan Singh - Rajasthan
12. 1978: Gurdev Singh - Punjab
13. 1979: Prasun Banerjee - Bengal
14. 1980: Mohammed Habib - Bengal
15. 1982: Sudhir Karmakar - Bengal
16. 1991: Subroto Bhattarcharya - Bengal
17. 1997: Brahmanand Shankhwalkar - Goa
18. 1998: Baichung Bhutia - Bengal
19. 2000: Bruno Coutinho - Goa
20. 2002: I M Vijayan - Kerala.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: Why Ahmed Khan is excluded?

It's a shame on all of us that till now, the veteran footballer Ahmed Khan has not been chosen for Arjuna award. He was a ...

Posted by Shuvadeep Lahiri


Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.