» News » UP portfolios announced; Adityanath retains home

UP portfolios announced; Adityanath retains home

Source: PTI
Last updated on: March 22, 2017 19:39 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Wednesday allocated portfolios to his cabinet colleagues keeping over three dozen departments, including the home ministry, with himself.

The chief minister also kept the information, housing and urban planning, food and civil supplies, mining, personnel, institutional finance, estate and several other departments according to the list released by Governor Ram Naik on Wednesday.

Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya has been given the public works department, food processing, entertainment tax and public enterprises department.

The other Deputy CM, Dinesh Sharma was given higher and secondary education, science and technology, electronics and IT departments.

The key finance portfolio went to Rajesh Agarwal, while Sidhharth Nath Singh has got medical and health department.

Among the 22 cabinet ministers: Surya Pratap Shahi got agriculture and agriculture research; Suresh Kumar Khanna urban development, parliamentary affairs; Swami Prasad Maurya labour, urban employment and poverty alleviation while Satish Mahana got industrial development.

Rita Bahuguna Joshi got women and family welfare, women and child development and tourism; Dara Singh Chauhan has been given forest and environment, zoological gardens; Dharampal Singh irrigation; S P Singh Baghel fisheries, minor irrigation and animal husbandry; while Satyadev Pachauri got Khadi gramodyog, silk and export promotion.

Cabinet ministers Ramapati Shastri got SC/ST welfare while Jai Prakash Singh got charge of the excise department.

Om Prakash Rajbhar got Backward Castes and handicap welfare; Brijesh Pathak law and justice, political pension, renewable energy; Lakshmi Narain Chowdhury milk development, religious endowment culture, minority welfare; Chetan Chauhan sports and youth welfare; Srikant Sharma power; Rajendra Pratap Singh alias Moti Singh rural engineering department; Mukut Bihari Verma cooperative; Ashutosh Tondon technical and medical education and Nand Gopal Gupta Nandi stamp and court fees, registration and civil aviation departments.

The lone Muslim face in the council of ministers, Mohsin Raza got science and technology, electronics, IT, Muslim Waqf and Haj.

Among the nine ministers of state (independent charge): Anupma Jaiswal got basic education, child development and nutrition, finance, revenue; Suresh Rana cane development, sugar mills and industrial development; Upendra Tiwari environment, water supply, land development and water resources and forest; Mahendra Kumar Singh rural development, medical and health; Swatantra Dev Singh transport, protocol and power; Bhupendra Singh Chowdhury panchyati raj, PWD; Dharam Singh Saini AYUSH, rehabilitation; Anil Rajbhar armymen welfare, home guards, food processing, civil defence and Swati Singh NRI department, flood control, agriculture export, marketing, women and family welfare and mother and child development departments.

Besides, 13 ministers of state were also given portfolios.

The Adityanath government has 25 cabinet ministers, nine ministers of state (independent charge) and 13 ministers of state.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus