News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

Rediff News  All News  » News » PHOTOS: First-time MP Modi takes oath in Lok Sabha

PHOTOS: First-time MP Modi takes oath in Lok Sabha

Last updated on: June 05, 2014 18:53 IST

Image: Prime Minister Modi takes oath in Lok Sabha on Thursday
Photographs: TV grab/Lok Sabha TV

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, several of his Cabinet colleagues and Congress President Sonia Gandhi were prominent among those who took oath as members of the 16th Lok Sabha on Thursday.

Attired in spotless white, the prime minister was the first to take oath amid thumping of desks. He took oath in Hindi in the name of God and was followed by BJP veteran L K Advani.

Advani, Sonia among the first to take oath

Image: Congress chief Sonia Gandhi takes oath
Photographs: PTI photo

 Several Union ministers took oath in Hindi in the name of God, with Sushma Swaraj, Uma Bharti and Harsh Vardhan taking oath in Sanskrit.

Sonia Gandhi made the affirmation in Hindi and so did minister Ram Vilas Paswan.

Several ministers preferred to take oath in their mother tongue, including D V Sadananda Gowda, Ananth Kumar and G M Siddheshwara, who took oath in Kannada. Sarbananda Sonowal took oath in Assamese and Jual Oram in Odia.





PHOTOS: First-time MP Modi takes oath in Lok Sabha

Image: Sushma Swaraj takes the oath
Photographs: PTI photo

Senior members Arjun Charan Sethi of the Biju Janata Dal, P A Sangma of the National People's Party and Biren Singh Engti of the Congress appointed on the panel of chairpersons by the President to help the protem Speaker Kamal Nath in oath taking process, took oath after Modi, Advani and Gandhi.

Cold vibes between Sonia and Maneka Gandhi were visible during the oath taking as both exchanged pleasantries rather reluctantly.

Nath was the only member who had taken oath on Wednesday as the House was adjourned on the first day of the new Lok Sabha following death of Minister Gopinath Munde on June 3.

Before initiating the oath-taking process, Nath welcomed all members, especially those of the newly formed Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh.

After oath taking by members of the council of ministers and members from Andaman and Nicobar and Andhra Pradesh, the protem Speaker called former PM H D Deve Gowda and two former Deputy Speakers Karia Munda and M Thambidurai to take oath.

The PM was present till the members of his council of ministers took oath.

© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.