« Back to articlePrint this article

Shivpal, Maurya among 14 general secys in SP's new national executive

January 29, 2023 19:20 IST

The Samajwadi Party declared its 62-member national executive on Sunday with Akhilesh Yadav as its national president and his uncle Shivpal Yadav as a general secretary.

IMAGE: SP chief Akhilesh Yadav with uncle Shivpal. Photograph: ANI Photo

Swami Prasad Maurya, who recently stirred controversy over his remarks on Ramcharitmanas, and veteran leader Azam Khan are also among the 14 national general secretaries.


The uncle-nephew duo of Shivpal and Akhilesh, who parted ways in 2016, came together during the Mainpuri Lok Sabha by-election in December last year following the death of Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav.

The SP on Sunday released the list of 62 national executive members on its Twitter handle.

In 2016, Shivpal Yadav, the then SP's Uttar Pradesh unit president had an open feud with the then chief minister Akhilesh Yadav and was sacked from Uttar Pradesh Cabinet.

Sidelined in the party, Shivpal Yadav formed the Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) in 2018 and contested against his nephew Akshay Yadav from Firozabad.

After their show of unity in Mainpuri, there was speculation that he may be formally rehabilitated in the party.

A former minister in the Yogi Adityanath government, Maurya switched from the Bharatiya Janata Party to the SP before the 2022 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections and lost from the Fazilnagar seat.

The other national general secretaries are Ravi Prakash Verma, Balram Yadav, Vishwambhar Prasad Nishad, Awadhesh Prasad, Indrajeet Saroj, Ramjilal Suman, Lalji Verma, Ram Achal Rajbhar, J Antony, Harendra Malik and Neeraj Chowdhury.

While Akhilesh Yadav will continue to hold the post of national president, Kiranmoy Nanda will be national vice president and Ram Gopal Yadav will continue as national principal general secretary.

Sudip Ranjan Sen will be the party treasurer, while there will be 19 national secretaries, including Madhu Gupta, Kamal Akhtar, Rajendra Chowdhury, Rajiv Rai and Abhishek Mishra.

Jaya Bachchan, Abu Asim Azmi, Ram Govind Chowdhury, Pawan Pandey, Lilawati Kushwaha, Ujjwal Raman Singh, Akshay Yadav, Tej Pratap Yadav, Dharmendra Yadav and Raj Kumar Mishra are among the party's national executive members.

© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.