« Back to articlePrint this article

Prez poll: Numbers in Kovind's favour, may get more votes than Pranab

Last updated on: June 20, 2017 23:03 IST

The electoral college numbers seem to be stacked in favour of National Democratic Alliance's nominee Ram Nath Kovind and he may well end up getting more votes than incumbent President Pranab Mukherjee and his predecessor Pratibha Patil.

With Shiv Sena on Tuesday joining other NDA allies in backing Kovind and Odisha's ruling Biju Janata Dal, the YSR Congress and Telangana's ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi too extending support, the 71-year-old Dalit leader is expected to have a smooth sailing in the event of an election.

The Bharatiya Janata Party may also seek the support of rival factions of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam or Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam -- parties dominating Tamil Nadu.

The opposition parties are meeting on June 22 to decide on fielding a consensus candidate for the presidential election.

Communist Party of India General Secretary S Sudhakar Reddy said that the opposition parties would "certainly" field a nominee.

The total strength of the electoral college which votes to elect the President comprises all elected MPs and members of legislative assemblies of all states and UTs of Delhi and Puducherry.

The total comes to 10,98,903 votes with each MP carrying a vote value of 708. The vote weight of an MLA depends on the population of the state he or she represents.

A candidate needs 50 per cent plus votes to win the poll. Halfway mark comes to 5,49,452.

The NDA, led by the BJP, has 5,37,683 votes and this is including the Shiv Sena, and the shortage is around 12,000 votes.

But the promised support from the BJD, the TRS and the YSR Congress and likely backing from the AIADMK could offset the shortfall of the presidential votes by a substantial margin.

The voting is through a secret ballot, and party whip does not apply.

In the 2012 elections, Pranab Mukherjee garnered 7,13,763 votes while Pratibha Patil secured 6,38,116 votes in the previous polls in 2007. Both Mukherjee and Patil were Congress nominees.

IMAGE: NDA's presidential nominee Ram Nath Kovind arrives at Bihar Niwas in New Delhi. Photograph: Vijay Verma/PTI Photo

© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.