» News » Winners & losers in Mumbai's high-stakes civic poll

Winners & losers in Mumbai's high-stakes civic poll

By The Rediff News Bureau
Last updated on: February 23, 2017 18:18 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

As counting is underway for the civic bodies in Maharashtra, and all eyes are on Mumbai’s cash-rich Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation.

Here are a list of some of the big winners and losers from these elections.

1) Parag Shah


Maharashtra’s richest candidate Parag Shah from the Bharatiya Janata Party has won from Pant Nagar, Ghatkopar in Mumbai’s central suburb. For those who don’t remember, Shah, a builder, had declared that he and his family are worth Rs 690 crore in his election affidavit submitted to the Election Commission.

2) Shraddha Jadhav


Ex-Mayor and Shiv Sena candidate from ward number 202, Parel. This is the sixth consecutive win for her.

3) Neil Kirit Somaiya


The BJP candidate and son of Kirit Somaiya has won from Mulund. 

4) Vinod Shelar


Mumbai BJP chief Ashish Shelar’s brother Vinod, a sitting BJP corporator, loses to Shiv Sena in Malad (East). He was contesting from  ward 51. Swapnil Tembawalkar is the candidate who defeated Vinod. 

5) Geeta Gawli

Gangster Arun Gawli's daughter and Akhil Bharatiya Sena candidate Geeta Gawli has won from ward 212 (Dagdi Chawl).

6) Kamini Shewale

Shiv Sena MP Rahul Shewale's wife Kamini lost the election from ward number 144.

7) Yashodhar Phanse 

Standing committee chairman and Shiv Sena bigwig Yashodhar Phanse loses from Andheri. 

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
The Rediff News Bureau /
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus