» News » Nearly 35% turnout till 1 pm in 3rd phase of Bihar polls

Nearly 35% turnout till 1 pm in 3rd phase of Bihar polls

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Roshneesh Kmaneck
Last updated on: November 07, 2020 15:52 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

An estimated 35 per cent of the total 2.35 crore electors exercised their franchise till 1 pm in the 78 assembly seats of Bihar where polling is underway in the third and final phase of elections on Saturday.

IMAGE: A security official keeps a vigil as voters stand in queues to cast their votes at a polling station during the third phase of Bihar assembly elections at Mahua in Vaishali district. Photograph: PTI Photo

While the polling so far has been peaceful, police had to open fire in the air in Purnia to disperse a crowd trying to disturb voting, even as people boycotted polling at 12 booths in Katihar in protest against barriers not being set up at two railway crossings.

The poll opened at 7 am in the 78 assembly seats spread across 15 districts of north Bihar.


According to the Election Commission, the poll percentage at 1 pm was 34.82, higher than the corresponding figures for the first phase (33.10) and the second phase (32.82) of polls.

The maximum turnout of 40.15 per cent till 1 pm has been recorded in the Muzaffarpur district, and the minimum in Darbhanga (26.58).

IMAGE: An election officer applies indelible ink on the finger of an elder voter at a polling station in Vaishali. Photograph: PTI Photo

In Araria, the Rashtriya Janata Dal candidate from Jokihat seat, Sarfaraz Alam, turned up for voting with a party badge pinned in his shirt which may invite charges of violation of the Model Code of Conduct.

When asked about it, Alam smirked, refusing to make any comment.

Araria District Magistrate Prashant Kumar said the matter has come to his knowledge and lawful action would be initiated in the candidate.

Alam is the elder son of former Union minister Mohammad Taslimuddin and is pitted against younger brother Mohammad Sahnawaz, who is in the fray from Asaduddin Owaisi- led AIMIM party.

IMAGE: An elderly voter shows her finger marked with indelible ink after casting vote. Photograph: PTI Photo

In Purnia, the police had to fire in the air to chase away people trying to disturb voting outside a booth under Dhamdaha assembly segment.

In terms of polling percentage, Muzaffarpur (40.15) is followed by Vaishali (37.99), Saharsa (37.58), Purnia (37.23), Pashchim Champaran (35.82), Supaul (35.73), Katihar (35.34), Madhubani (34.67), Purvi Champaran (34.62), Kishanganj (34.45), Samastipur (34.16), Madhepura (33.93), Araria (32.79), Sitamarhi (31.51), and Darbhanga (26.58).

Voting is being held simultaneously in the Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha seat, where a bypoll has been necessitated due to the death of Janata Dal-United MP Baidyanath Mahto.

It has recorded a turnout of 35.82 per cent till 1 pm.

IMAGE: An election officer applies indelible ink on the finger of an elder voter . Photograph: PTI Photo)

Madhepura districts Bihariganj, from where veteran socialist leader Sharad Yadavs daughter Subhashini Yadav is making her poll debut on a Congress seat, has recorded a polling percentage of 32.90 till 1 pm.

Subhashini stood in a queue to cast her vote at a polling booth in Madhepura.

After casting her vote, the 30-year-old said her father, who represented Madhepura multiple times in Lok Sabha, has worked honestly for development of the constituency and that is why he is respected by people of all religions and castes.

IMAGE: A voter undergoes thermal screening before casting vote. Photograph: PTI Photo

Plurals Party president Pushpam Priya Choudhary, who is also her party's chief ministerial candidate, cast her vote with her mother in a booth at Darbhanga.

Speaker of the outgoing assembly Vijay Kumar Chaudhary and about one dozen ministers of the Nitish Kumar cabinet are in fray in this round of voting.

Minister Suresh Sharma cast his vote in Muzaffarpur.

IMAGE: Plurals Party chief Pushpam Priya Choudhary shows her finger marked with indelible ink after casting vote at a polling station in Darbhanga. Photograph: PTI Photo

Meanwhile, people at 12 booths under Kusail panchayat in Kadwa assembly constituency of Katihar are boycotting the polls in protest against barriers not being installed in nearby Minapur and Jhaua railway crossings.

Block Development Officer Md Iftar and other senior officials have reached the area to persuade people to vote.

The first phase of voting for the 243-trong assembly took place on October 28 and the second phase on November 3.

The votes will be counted on November 10.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Roshneesh Kmaneck© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus