« Back to articlePrint this article

President Mukherjee confers Padma awards

March 30, 2017 21:07 IST

Political stalwarts Sharad Pawar, Murli Manohar Joshi and former Lok Sabha Speaker P A Sangma (posthumous), cricketer Virat Kohli and Bollywood singer Anuradha Paudwal were among the 39 people who were conferred this year’s Padma awards on Thursday.

IMAGE: President Pranab Mukherjee presents the Padma Vibhushan Award to Dr Murli Manohar Joshi. Photograph: Kamal Kishore/PTI Photo

Joshi, Pawar, Sangma (posthumous) and Professor Udipi Ramachandra Rao, former Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation, were conferred the Padma Vibhushan, the country’s second highest civilian award, by President Pranab Mukherjee at a special function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

IMAGE: Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar was also conferred the Padma Vibhushan at the event. Photograph: Kamal Kishore/PTI Photo

Yoga guru Swami Niranjanananda Saraswati, Thai princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn and the father of laparoscopic surgery in India Tehemton Erach Udwadia were conferred Padma Bhushan awards.

IMAGE: Professor Udipi Ramachandra Rao, former Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation, was all smiles as he received the Padma Vibhushan. Photograph: Kamal Kishore/PTI Photo

The number of Padma awardees this year is 89, which includes seven recipients each for Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan.

IMAGE: Dr Tehemton Erach Udwadia received the Padma Bhushan award for his contribution to medicine. He is known as the father of laparoscopic surgery in India. Photograph: Kamal Kishore/PTI Photo

The rest of the awardees will be conferred the awards on April 13.

IMAGE: Thailand's Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn was awarded the Padma Bhushan for her contribution in the field of literature and education. Photograph: Kamal Kishore/PTI Photo


IMAGE: Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP veteran L K Advani were also present at the event. Photograph: Kamal Kishore/PTI Photo