« Back to articlePrint this article

Padma Vibhushan for Mario Miranda, Bhupen Hazarika

Last updated on: January 25, 2012 14:52 IST
President Pratibha Patil has approved the conferment of Padma Awards-2012. This year the President has approved 109 awards including one duo case (counted as one) and 14 in the category of foreigners/ non-resident Indians/ Persons of Indian Origin/Posthumous. These comprise five Padma Vibhushan, 27 Padma Bhushan and 77 Padma Shri Awards. There are 19 women among the awardees.

Among the five persons selected for the Padma Vibhushan award are late cartoonist Mario Miranda and legendary musician Dr Bhupen Hazarika for their contribution to the field of art.

The others to be given the hounour are K G Subramanyan (art -- painting and sculpture), Kantilal Hastimal Sancheti (medicine) and T V Rajeswar (civil service).

Actors Shabana Azmi and Dharmedra, film director Mira Nair and renowned cardiologist Devi Prasad Shetty have been awarded with Padma Bhushan on the eve of Republic Day.

The other recipients of the award are: Khaled Choudhury (art – theatre), Jatin Das (Art – Painting), Pandit Buddhadev Das Gupta (art - instrumental music – Sarod), Dr Trippunithwra Viswanathan Gopalkrishnan (art - classical vocal and instrumental music), M S Gopalakrishnan (art - instrumental music –violin), Anish Kapoor (art – sculpture), Satya Narayan Goenka (social work), Dr (Judge) Patibandla Chandrasekhar Rao (public affairs), George Yong-Boon Yeo (public affairs), Shashikumar Chitre (science and engineering),  M S Raghunathan (science and engineering),  Subbiah Murugappa Vellayan (trade and industry),

Balasubramanian Muthuraman (trade and industry),  Suresh H Advani (medicine – Oncology, Noshir H Wadia (medicine – neurology),  Devi Prasad Shetty (medicine –Cardiology), Prof (Dr) Shantaram Balwant Mujumdar (literature and education),

Prof Vidya Dehejia (literature and education), Prof Arvind Panagariy (literature and education), Dr Jose Pereira (literature and education), Dr Homi K Bhabha (literature and education), N Vittal (civil service), Mata Prasad (civil service) and Ronen Sen (civil service).

Bhajan singer Anup Jalota, industrialist Swati Piramal, wildlife conservationist Ullas Karanth, former hockey captain Zafar Iqbal, woman cricket captain Jhulan Goswami and archer Limba Ram have been conferred the Padma Shri.