NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Naveen becomes BJD president for 5th time in a row

Naveen becomes BJD president for 5th time in a row

January 28, 2013 19:15 IST

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday became president of the ruling Biju Janata Dal for the fifth consecutive time unopposed.

"There was no need for holding election for the post of president as nobody else had filed nomination," Pravat Tripathy, the state returning officer and the BJD chief whip in the assembly said announcing Patnaik's formal election.

Tripathy said scrutiny of the nomination paper was held on Sunday and the party formally declared the name of Patnaik as its president. Patnaik is the founder president of the BJD, which came into being after the death of Biju Patnaik in 1997.

Party's organisational elections are held every three years. Seeking cooperation of the people and partymen, Patnaik said, "I am grateful to all for electing me for the fifth time as BJD President."

Stating that BJD has been working for the poor and common people and would continue to do so, the chief minister said the goal was to make Odisha a hunger-free state.

Though the BJD is a regional party, it has won the faith and confidence of the people," Patnaik said. Though a lot of progress has been made over the years, much more needs to be done to take the state on the path of development, he said.

Soon after being elected, Patnaik announced an 81-member executive committee with nine vice-presidents, against four earlier. There would be ten general secretaries and as many secretaries to function as office bearers.

The new vice-presidents are: Kalandi Behera, Kalpataru Das, Raghunath Mohanty, S N Patro, while Lal Behari Himirika was made Treasurer of the regional party.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.