» News » Karkare, Sharma among 11 to get Ashok Chakra

Karkare, Sharma among 11 to get Ashok Chakra

Last updated on: January 26, 2009 10:35 IST

Maharashtra Police ATS chief Hemant Karkare, Additional Commissioner Ashok Kamte and four others -- killed while fighting terrorists in Mumbai -- are among 11 security personnel named for Ashok Chakra, the country's highest peace-time gallantry medal.

Mumbai Police Inspector Vijay Salaskar and Assistant Sub-Inspector Tukaram Ombale, apart from National Security Guard commandos Major Sandeep Unnikrishnan and Havildar Gajender Singh too would receive the medal posthumously for their acts of bravery during the November Mumbai attacks.

Delhi Police inspector Mohan Chand Sharma, who died fighting terrorists in the Batla House operation in the capital in September last year, has also been named for the award.

Army Colonel Jojan Thomas, the Commanding Officer of 45 Rastriya Rifles and Special Forces commando Havildar Bahadur Singh Bohra of 10 Parachute Regiment, who were killed in separate counter-insurgency operations in Jammu and Kashmir, would also receive the medal for their courage.

President Pratibha Patil will present the medals to the next of kin of these officers and personnel during the Republic Day parade on January 26.

Families of Orissa Armed Police Special Operation Group Assistant Commandant P K Satapathy and Meghalaya Police's R P Diengdoh, who were posthumously named for the medal on August 15 last year for fighting insurgents in their respective states, will also receive the award.

The President also named 13 other officers and security personnel for the second highest peace-time gallantry medal, the Kirti Chakra, a Bar to Shaurya Chakra and 30 Shaurya Chakras.

Those who would be decorated with Kirti Chakra, are Lt Col Saurabh Singh Shekhawat of the Special Forces 21 Parachute Regiment, Lt Col Osiris Das of Kumaon Regiment/13 RR, Capt Sala Ajitkuman Arshibhai of Special Forces 2 Parachute Regiment, Capt Paras Limboo of Assam Regiment/59 RR, Sub Indra Bahadur Pun of Special Forces 4 Parachute Regiment, Hav Rale Santosh Tanaji of Maratha Light Infantry/56 RR.   

Others named are Naik Tape Yajo of 1 Assam Regiment (posthumous), Nitya Nanda Bora of the Indian Railway (posthumous), NSG Commando Sapper V Sathish of Corps of Engineers, Maharashtra Police Constable Arun Raghonath Chitte (posthumous), Constable Amradas Ramachandra Powar (posthumous) and Inspector Sashank Chandrasen Shinde (posthumous), and Maharashtra Home Guard Mukesh Bhikaji Jadav (posthumous).

Border Roads Organisation's Zalim Singh, an operator of excavating machinery, was named to receive Bar to Shaurya Chakra.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.