« Back to articlePrint this article

Madan Mohan Malviya conferred Bharat Ratna

Last updated on: March 30, 2015 14:36 IST

Noted educationist and freedom fighter Madan Mohan Malviya was on Monday posthumously conferred the Bharat Ratna, the country’s highest civilian award, by President Pranab Mukherjee.

Members of Malviya’s family received the Bharat Ratna from Mukherjee at the traditional ceremony held in the historic Durbar Hall with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice President Hamid Ansari, Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Finance Minister Arun Jaitley along with other senior cabinet ministers in attendance.

Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya’s family receiving the honour from President Pranab Mukherjee. Photograph: Rashtrapati Bhavan/Facebook

Malviya, an educationist with a vision, was behind the establishment of the Banaras Hindu University.

Born on December 25, 1861, Malviya was catapulted into the political arena immediately after his first moving speech at the second Congress session held in Kolkata in 1886. He was President of the Indian National Congress in 1909 and 1918.

BJP veteran leader LK Advani receiving the Padma Vibhushan. Photograph: Rashtrapati Bhavan/Facebook

Malviya is also remembered for his stellar role in the Independence movement and his espousal of Hindu nationalism. He was one of the initial leaders of the right-wing Hindu Mahasabha.

A host of other personalities including veteran Bharatiya Janata Party leader L K Advani and Punjab Chief Minister and Shiromani Akali Dal leader Parkash Singh Badal, were honoured with Padma awards by Mukherjee at a glittering ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

SAD leader and Punjab CM Parkash Singh Badal was also bestowed the Padma Vibhushan. Photograph: Rashtrapati Bhavan/Facebook

The prominent who were awarded the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award, included Advani and Badal, while Padma Bhushan was awarded to lawyer Harish Salve and journalists Swapan Dasgupta and Rajat Sharma.

Lyricist Prasoon Joshi is all smiles as he receives the Padma Shri from President Mukherjee. Photograph: Rashtrapati Bhavan/Facebook

Amongst the prominent Padma Shri awardees were film director Sanjay Leela Bhansali, writer-lyricist Prasoon Joshi, physician Dr Randeep Guleria, creator of popular cartoon character ‘Chacha Chaudhary’ Pran Kumar Sharma (posthumously), shuttler PV Sindhu, Hockey star Sardara Singh and amputee Everest climber Arunima Sinha.

Journalist Swapan Dasgupta was also honoured with the Padma Bhushan. Photograph: Rashtrapati Bhavan/Facebook

Last week, the President had awarded the Bharat Ratna to former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee at his house in Delhi.

For the full list of Padma winners, click HERE

© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.