» News » Jolt to NC-Congress; Farooq, Azad bite dust

Jolt to NC-Congress; Farooq, Azad bite dust

Source: PTI
May 16, 2014 20:02 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

In a major setback to ruling National Conference-Congress coalition in Jammu and Kashmir, the opposition Peoples Democratic Party and the Bharatiya Janata Party on Friday shared the six Lok Sabha seats in the state as two Union ministers, including Farooq Abdullah, bit the dust.

Special Coverage: Election 2014

Abdullah, NC patriarch and Union minister for New and Renewable Energy, tasted his first electoral defeat in over three decades.

The PDP's Tariq Hamid Karra humbled him in the Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency by a margin of 42,280 votes. Karra, a former Finance minister in the then PDP-led government in Jammu and Kashmir, polled 1,57,923 votes against Abdullah's 1,15,643.

It was a comprehensive defeat for 76-year-old Abdullah as his party lost in 12 of the 15 assembly segments comprising the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat, considered to be the stronghold of National Conference.

Union Health minister Ghulam Nabi Azad was trounced by the BJP's Jitendra Singh in Udhampur Lok Sabha constituency by a margin of 60,976 votes.

Singh polled 4,87,369 votes against Azad's 426393 as the PDP's Arshid Malik came a distant third with 30458 votes. This was the first time Azad, a former chief minister, had contested the Lok Sabha election from the state.

BJP president and candidate from Jammu Lok Sabha seat Jugal Kishore registered the highest winning margin of 2,57,280 votes in the state, defeating two-time Congress Member of Parliament Madan Lal Sharma.

Kishore got 619995 votes while Sharma polled 3,62,715.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus