NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » BJP releases list of seven candidates for Assam

BJP releases list of seven candidates for Assam

March 16, 2009 15:28 IST
The Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday released its list of seven candidates for Lok Sabha seats in Assam.

The list of the party, which is in alliance with Assam Gana Parishad in the state, includes Sudanshu Das from Karimganj, Kabindra Purkayasth from Silchar, Kulendra Doulagapu from Autonomous District, Bijoya Chakraborty from
Guwahati, Ramen Deka from Mangaldoi, Rajan Gohain from Nowgong and Kamakhya Prasad Tasa from Jorhat.

As per the saffron party's arrangement with the AGP, the BJP would fight eight seats while the remaining six seats would be contested by the AGP. The BJP is yet to announce the name of its candidate for Dhubri seat.
© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.