NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Left-backed AISF sweeps Patna University students' union polls

Left-backed AISF sweeps Patna University students' union polls

December 12, 2012 12:17 IST

The All India Student Federation, backed by the Left Front, swept the Patna University students' union polls -- which were held after a gap of 28 years -- by winning three of the five major posts.

The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad, backed by the Bharatiya Janata Party, managed to win the president's post. The Janata Dal – United's student wing won the secretary's post, said an official.

This is the first time the AISF has performed so well in the student union polls.

ABVP's Ashish Sinha has been elected the president of Patna University Students'  Union. He defeated his nearest rival Divya Gautam from Communist Party of India's student body All India Student's Association.

Sinha is the son of BJP MLA Arun Kumar Sinha.

AISF's Kumar Anshuman was elected the vice president while the student body's Anshu Kumari was elected general secretary and Abhisek Gupta elected treasurer of the Patna University Students' Union.

AISF also won six of the 19 college executive posts.

"It is a new beginning in student politics in Bihar. AISF proved that students are being mobilised on pro-people oriented agenda," said Anish Ankur, a theatre activist.

On Tuesday, 50 per cent of the 18,000 eligible voters cast their votes to elect the union's central panel and 19 college executives.

"History was made when students cast their votes for the students' union of the Patna University," said K K Sinha, chairman of the Patna University Election Committee.

Sinha pointed out that the election has been a peaceful affair.

Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan had all been active members of the Patna University students' union.

M I Khan In Patna