» News » Hizb chief, Bhatkal brothers among 18 designated as terrorists

Hizb chief, Bhatkal brothers among 18 designated as terrorists

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Hemant Waje
October 27, 2020 15:57 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Chief of the banned Hizbul Mujahideen Syed Syed Salahuddin and founders of Indian Mujahideen outfit Bhatkal brothers are among the 18 people who have been designated as "terrorists" under the anti-terror law, an official spokesperson said in New Delhi on Tuesday.

The hijackers of an Indian Airlines plane in 1999 -- Abdul Rauf Asghar, Ibrahim Athar and Yusuf Azhar -- have also been named in the list, prepared under provisions of the amended Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act.

Earlier, only terror outfits could be designated as such under the stringent law and not individuals. But the amended anti-terror Act, passed by Parliament in August 2019, introduced a provision to designate as "terrorists" individuals who commit or participate in acts of terrorism, prepare for them, or promote or encourage such acts.

By invoking the said amended provision, the Central Government had designated as terrorists four individuals in September, 2019 and nine individuals in July, 2020.

"Reinforcing the commitment of strengthening national security and its policy of zero tolerance to terrorism, the Modi government today has declared 18 more individuals as designated terrorists under the provisions of the UAPA," the spokesperson said.

"These individuals are involved in various acts of terrorism from across the border and have been relentless in their nefarious efforts of destabilizing the country," he said.


Among those named in the list of terrorists were Sajid Mir, Pakistan based top Lashker-e-Taiba commander who was one of the main planners of the 26/11 Mumbai terror attack; Yusuf Muzammil, an LeT commander and accused in the 26/11 Mumbai terror attack; Abdur Rehman Makki, brother-in-law of Lashker chief Hafiz Saeed, who heads political affairs and has served in the outfit's foreign relations department.

The list names Riyaz Ismail Shahbandri alias Riyaz Bhatkal and his brother Mohammed Iqbal alias Iqbal Bhatkal, who formed Indian Mujahideen and were involved in various terrorist acts including attacks on German Bakery (2010), Chinnaswami Stadium, Bangalore (2010) , Jama Masjid (2010), Sheetlaghat (2010) and Mumbai (2011).

They have also been accused of terror financing and various terrorist acts including the Jaipur serial blasts (2008), Delhi serial blasts (2008), serial blasts in Ahmedabad and Surat (2008).

Four close aides of underworld don Dawood Ibrahim -- who was designated a global terrorist by the UN -- Shaikh Shakeel alias Chhota Shakeel, Mohammad Anis Shaikh, Ibrahim Memon alias Tiger Memon and Javed Chikna have been named in the list.

Besides being involved in 1993 serial blast in Mumbai, they are also accused of looking after all criminal and underworld operations of D-Company.

Pakistan-based deputy chief of proscribed organization Falah-i-lnsaniyat Foundation (FIF) -- a frontal organisation of terror organisation Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) -- Shahid Mehmood alias Shahid Mehmood Rehmatullah, was also declared a terrorist.

Farhatullah Ghori alias Abu Sufiyan, a Pakistan-based terrorist who was involved in the attack on Akshardham Temple (2002) and the suicide attack on the Task Force office in Hyderabad (2005), also finds his name on the list.

The three kin of Jaish-e-Mohammed chief Masoor Azhar -- Abdul Rauf Asghar, Ibrahim Athar and Yusuf Azhar -- all wanted in connection with the hijacking of an Indian Airlines plane in 1999 have been designated as terrorists.

They are also on the Interpol Red Corner list.

The trio is also involved in setting up of training camps in Pakistan for recruitment and militant training. Asghar is also a key conspirator in the 2001 terrorist attack on Parliament House.

Besides Salahuddin, whose original name is Syed Mohammed Yusuf Shah, his deputy Ghulam Nabi Khan alias Amir Khan has also been designated a terrorist. They have been accused of being involved in fund raising and routing finances to India for furtherance of terrorist activities by Hiuzbul Mujahideen cadres.

Shahid Latif, a Pakistan-based terrorist and Jaish's Commander of Sialkot sector, involved in launching of JeM terrorists into India, has also been named. He is also involved in planning, facilitation and execution of terror attacks in India.

The list also named Zaffar Hussain Bhat, a Pakistan-based person who handles financial affairs of Hizbul Mujahideen.

"Under the strong and iron-willed leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Central Government had amended the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967 to include the provision of designating an individual as a terrorist," the spokesperson said.

"Prior to this amendment, only organizations could be designated as terrorist organizations," he said.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah has unequivocally reaffirmed the nation's resolve to fight terrorism, he said.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Hemant Waje© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus