» News » Govt to transfer 22 bureaucrats under rotation policy

Govt to transfer 22 bureaucrats under rotation policy

April 05, 2012 17:05 IST

The government has decided to transfer 22 All-India service officials working in one ministry for over seven years by the end of this month as part of its rotation policy aimed at increasing efficiency in the bureaucracy.

The Department of Personnel and Training issued its first list on Wednesday of officials at the level of under secretaries and asked departments concerned to ensure its compliance.

Those on the list include K C Singha, T P Kerketta and N K Kashmira from Ministry of Defence, M R Sharma, S C Lather and Gopal Sadhwani from Animal Husbandary,  Dairying and Fisheries Department, Ashin Khattiyya Deori and Arvind Kumar from Health and Family Welfare Department, and Shersha and P K Tamrakar from Ministry of Labour.

Two officials each from Ministry of Mines -- C K Rawat and H M Meena, and Department of Telecommunications -- Syed Ekram Rizvi and S P Sharma-- and one official each from Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region --L B Tuolte, Department of Expenditure-- Mercy Epao, and Department of Legal Affairs --D Choudhary are on the list.

While one official each in Ministry of Power -- Madhukar  Sood, Department of Revenue -- T Kundhavi, Ministry of Textiles --Sangeeta B Rao, Ministry of Tribal Affairs --Italia Mohan and Union Public Service Commission --Malay Mukhopadhyay are also proposed to be moved from their respective departments.

"The Rotational Transfer Policy of Central Secretariat Officers prescribes a fixed tenure of posting in a particular ministry/department.

"One of the objectives of the policy is to ensure gaining of exposure by the officers to different challenging situations on various ministries/departments which will not only help them individually to progress in their career but result in the betterment of the administrative system as a whole," an office memorandum of the DoPT said.

Get Rediff News delivered into your Inbox.
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.